Thread: UML, PhP 5, MVC

Hybrid View

SitePoint Evangelist
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

UML, PhP 5, MVC

I am creating an "on line personal training" application in PhP5. I am currently looking into UML and drawing up use cases, activity diagrams, classes, sequence diagrams and component diagrams.

I have never used UML before and object oriented development is somewhat new to me from the php 5 perspective. ( coded in Java before ).

I would like to use Smarty as the template engine.

I haven't decided which php patterns I should use, but I know for sure I would like to focus on MVC ( Model View Controler ) and separate my objects into components.

I wanted to get an opinion about how effective UML design will be in developing an application in PHP 5.

I am not aware of any forward engineering tools for php currently, so I know that my classes will not be able to be generated by "Poseidon Community Edition" for example.

I am also using the GRAPPLE approach to application development. Please give me some suggestions and feedback on how I should effectively spend my time to prepare for the coding..

Thanks

SitePoint Guru silver trophy Luke Redpath's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by photo312
    I am also using the GRAPPLE approach to application development. Please give me some suggestions and feedback on how I should effectively spend my time to prepare for the coding..

Thanks
    Personally I think you are wasting a lot of time drawing up lots and lots of diagrammes. Break your project down, do some rough planning and start coding as soon as possible. Test, code, refactor. Don't decide from the beginning that you are going to use x, y and z pattern. Start writing code and some appropriate patterns should reveal themselves to you. If you have decided you want to take an MVC approach thats fine, but don't get too hung up about it at this stage.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged