SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    764
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Connect Sirius unit to computer?

    I have a sirius sportster and it has a standard headphone out jack on it. Is there a way I can plug it into my media center comuter and get it to play through my speakers? headphone to rca cable or some kind of cable that will allow me to input and play in real time through the speakers?

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard Keriam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Colorado, USA
    Posts
    1,178
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You should be able to plug it in to the line in on your sound card using a mini-jack to mini-jack cable. Warning: make sure the volume controls are turned down on the Sirius and the line in initially! Then adjsut the volume so you do not overload the sound card.
    Never put off until tomorrow what you can do
    the day after tomorrow. ~ Mark Twain

  3. #3
    He's No Good To Me Dead silver trophybronze trophy stymiee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Slave I
    Posts
    23,424
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    You do realize you can listen to sirius through your browser?

  4. #4
    SitePoint Guru Marubozo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Near South Bend, Indiana
    Posts
    657
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by stymiee
    You do realize you can listen to sirius through your browser?
    This is what I do, since I don't wnat to worry about getting an additional antenna for the house and carry the unit around all the time. But unfortunately, the online sound quality is quite poor
    Generation X Finance
    Helping a Unique Generation Achieve Financial Independence

    Financial Planning writer at About.com

  5. #5
    He's No Good To Me Dead silver trophybronze trophy stymiee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Slave I
    Posts
    23,424
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Marubozo
    This is what I do, since I don't wnat to worry about getting an additional antenna for the house and carry the unit around all the time. But unfortunately, the online sound quality is quite poor
    Do you think? I generally don't have any complaints. But maybe I'm not that picky.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Guru Marubozo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Near South Bend, Indiana
    Posts
    657
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I suppose it depends on taste. I personally strive for excellent audio quality and have a very nice sound system. To me, even 128kbps MP3s sound pretty bad.

    But at work, I have no option but to listen to sirius online, and with the little built in speakers in my workstation, I must admit, I can't tell the difference between 64kbps or playing directly from the CD.
    Generation X Finance
    Helping a Unique Generation Achieve Financial Independence

    Financial Planning writer at About.com

  7. #7
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    764
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by stymiee
    You do realize you can listen to sirius through your browser?
    Yes but not all channels are available online.

  8. #8
    _ silver trophy ses5909's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    NoVa
    Posts
    5,466
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    More and more channels are now online incuding news and talk radio. On their website it looks as if you can listen to howard stern form the web, but I'm unable to get it to work. Anyone else able to?
    Sara


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •