SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Managing MySQL locally

    I am new to mysql, especially on Windows but I am an experienced Oracle DBA so it is really the windows aspect that I am weak on.
    I have installed mysql and PHP on my laptop and I have a mysql database that I can access on my hosted webserver.
    However I am struggling to be able to connect phpmyadmin to my local database (which is up and running) and test out my create tables acripts etc without logging onto the remote server.
    I currently just run a cmd call to open a dos window which is not the easiest way to work.

    Trying to get phpmyadmin to work locally I have edited the config.inc.php file in C:\phpMyAdmin-2.6.4-pl4 to read as follows

    $cfg['PmaAbsoluteUri'] = 'http://localhost/phpMyAdmin/C:\phpMyAdmin-2.6.4-pl4/index.php'; However I get a 404 error whn trying to connect to my database through phpMyAdmin with http://localhost/phpMyAdmin

    Sorry to ask such simple questions but I have tried all sorts of things to get it to work and it is frustrating as I know my table layout and want to get on with the design and build of my application (simple though it is)

    Thanks

    John

  2. #2
    SitePoint Guru MikeBigg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Reading, UK
    Posts
    970
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    there are some windows applications from mySQL that allow you to admin databases. Much better than phpMyAdmin. There is also 3rd party app called mySQL-Front which works well. This used to be free, but I believe it has gone to a paid version now.

    mySQL Administrator: http://dev.mysql.com/downloads/administrator/index.html

    mySQL Query Browser: http://dev.mysql.com/downloads/query-browser/1.1.html

    I know it doesn't answer your question directly, but I hope it helps.

    Mike

  3. #3
    reads the ********* Crier silver trophybronze trophy longneck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Tampa, FL (US)
    Posts
    9,854
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    PHP Code:
    /**
     * Your phpMyAdmin url
     *
     * Complete the variable below with the full url ie
     *    [url]http://www.your_web.net/path_to_your_phpMyAdmin_directory/[/url]
     *
     * It must contain characters that are valid for a URL, and the path is
     * case sensitive on some Web servers, for example Unix-based servers.
     *
     * In most cases you can leave this variable empty, as the correct value
     * will be detected automatically. However, we recommend that you do
     * test to see that the auto-detection code works in your system. A good
     * test is to browse a table, then edit a row and save it.  There will be
     * an error message if phpMyAdmin cannot auto-detect the correct value.
     *
     * If the auto-detection code does work properly, you can set to TRUE the
     * $cfg['PmaAbsoluteUri_DisableWarning'] variable below.
     */ 
    which means that your line should read: $cfg['PmaAbsoluteUri'] = 'http://localhost/phpMyAdmin/

    the problem with this is you'll never be able to access phpmyadmin from any computer other than your laptop. i suggest you leave this parameter blank until you test editing a row like the configuration file suggests. if that works with no errors, then set [b]$cfg['PmaAbsoluteUri_DisableWarning'] = TRUE;[b]

  4. #4
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks all, but still no success. I get a 404 whatever I put in.
    My config line looks like this $cfg['PmaAbsoluteUri'] = ''; and my phpadmin is unzipped into C:\phpMyAdmin-2.6.4-pl4.

    To start up phyMyAdmin I am putting http://localhost/phpMyAdmin into a browser and also trying http://localhost/phpMyAdmin/C:\phpMyAdmin-2.6.4-pl4/ Each time I get a 404.

    I know I am being stupid and it frustrates me so much but any help is appreciated.

  5. #5
    reads the ********* Crier silver trophybronze trophy longneck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Tampa, FL (US)
    Posts
    9,854
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    your configuration files isn't problem. your web server doesn't know to look in the root of your c: drive to find phpmyadmin. you need to move that folder to wherever your files are being served from and rename the folder to just phpmyadmin

  6. #6
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Excellent long neck. I renamed my folder and copied it to Program Files/Apache Group/Apache2/httdocs and I now get the following error message

    cannot load mysql extension; please check php config

    My config.inc.php does have a line $cfg ['Servers'] [$i] ['extension']=['mysql'];

    At least I seem to be making more progress

  7. #7
    reads the ********* Crier silver trophybronze trophy longneck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Tampa, FL (US)
    Posts
    9,854
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    you do not have the mysql extension enabled for PHP. are you following a guide to installing apache/php/mysql? because you are either skipping steps or the guide you are following is for PHP 4 and you're probably using PHP 5. the setups for PHP 5 and mysql 5 are different from PHP 4 and mysql 4.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Gainesville, Florida
    Posts
    54
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I use Aqua Data Studio in Windows or just plain old CLI over SSH ( although still learning all the MySQL-centric commands is an ongoing process).

    Try out Auqua Data Studio its free for personal or academic use and cheap for commercial. Runs on anything ( its JAVA ) and works with a large variety of RDBMS including oracle, postgresql and mysql.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •