SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    SitePoint Zealot egiblock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Mentor, Ohio
    Posts
    162
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    cf database update !!! working.. but one more thing please take a look

    ok..... check out http://www.comcar.cc/ds.htm
    to see what is going on..

    enter "440" for the area code on the form and hit submit.


    heres what i need help with.....


    ds.htm - fill out information and hit submit. (enter "440" as the areacode)

    ds.cfm - display the variables from the form before that as a varification page, and pull information from a database that displays distributor, sales person, sales email, and a radio button for selecting a person to send the form to...

    ds2.cfm -
    im trying to get this to pull variables from the first ds.htm file. as in #areacode# or something like that. is there a way to pull the variables from the origional form ???

  2. #2
    Yugo full of anvils bronze trophy hillsy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    :noitacoL
    Posts
    1,859
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I think you'd need to pass them thru a URL or a form somehow. You might also be able to use something like a server variable or cookie.

    Just thinking out loud here. Am I way off in what you're wanting to actually do?
    that's me!
    Now A Pom. And a Plone Nut
    Broccoli Martinez Airpark

  3. #3
    SitePoint Zealot egiblock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Mentor, Ohio
    Posts
    162
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    what i want to do is ....

    user inputs a variable like "areacode"

    in the first cfmform the code to display the variable is #areacode#

    now in the second cfm file i want to display the variable again. do i have to do something like ##areacode## ?? or how can i get the variables that have been inputted from the origonal user input...

    don't want anything too crazy though.. i have to make about 30 different copies of the code when i figure this out..

    thanks people

  4. #4
    SitePoint Addict kevin_tremblay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Boston Area (North shore)
    Posts
    233
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I did something similar to this recently. I have a table that displays training classes and the user can click on a register hyperlink and it will send them to the next page and pass all the information per that class (using the date as the ID for the form) to the next cfm form for completion.
    Here is some of the code I used.
    My Query...
    <CFQUERY DATASOURCE = "training" NAME= "Results">
    SELECT date, month, class_location, class_time, class_name
    FROM schedule
    WHERE Month LIKE '#Month#'
    </cfquery>

    Then I use a table for the results..

    <table cellpadding="3" cellspacing="1">
    <tr bgcolor="LightSteelBlue">
    <th>Date</th>
    <th>Month</th>
    <th>Class</th>
    <th>Class Location</th>
    <th>Class Time</th>
    <th>Action</th>
    </tr>
    <CFOUTPUT Query="Results">
    <tr bgcolor="###IIF(Results.currentrow MOD 2, DE('99cc66'), DE('99cccc'))#">
    <td>#Date#</td>
    <td>#Month#</td>
    <td>#class_name#</td>
    <td>#class_location#</td>
    <td>#class_time#</td>
    <td><a href="register.cfm?
    ID=#Date#">Register</a></td>
    </tr>
    </cfoutput>
    </table>


    pass date as the ID to the next page and call in within my new query #ID#

    I hope this is what you are kind of getting at.

    Kevin -- Digitalman
    Kevin Tremblay-- Sys Admin
    work: kevin_tremblay@hsgmed.com
    "The object of the journey is not to arrive."

  5. #5
    SitePoint Zealot egiblock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Mentor, Ohio
    Posts
    162
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    im not passing just one variable though, im passing between 10-30 variables....

  6. #6
    SitePoint Addict kevin_tremblay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Boston Area (North shore)
    Posts
    233
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What other variables are you wanting to pass other than the area code one. I assume that is your WHERE piece in your query for the data that you push back for the sales person on the second form?

    Kevin -- Digitalman
    Kevin Tremblay-- Sys Admin
    work: kevin_tremblay@hsgmed.com
    "The object of the journey is not to arrive."

  7. #7
    SitePoint Addict ownersite's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    222
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Probably the easiest way to do this would be to use hidden form elements on ds.cfm

    <INPUT TYPE="hidden" NAME="areacode" VALUE="#Form.areacode#">

    In this instance, your form from ds.cfm will pass a value that you can reference on ds2.cfm called Form.areacode...since the value came from the first form, it will be the same...
    F150online- 102,000 users strong and growing...
    Ownersite.com
    - tools to enhance vehicle ownership

  8. #8
    SitePoint Zealot egiblock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Mentor, Ohio
    Posts
    162
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by kevin_tremblay
    What other variables are you wanting to pass other than the area code one. I assume that is your WHERE piece in your query for the data that you push back for the sales person on the second form?

    Kevin -- Digitalman
    the org form has variables suhc as a1,a2,a3 etc.etc... i have to pass all those in a email message back to the company and an email that you select from the second page where you select the person via radio box....

  9. #9
    SitePoint Zealot egiblock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Mentor, Ohio
    Posts
    162
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by ownersite
    Probably the easiest way to do this would be to use hidden form elements on ds.cfm

    <INPUT TYPE="hidden" NAME="areacode" VALUE="#Form.areacode#">

    In this instance, your form from ds.cfm will pass a value that you can reference on ds2.cfm called Form.areacode...since the value came from the first form, it will be the same...
    i'll try this tonight and let you know if it works by the end of the weekend..

    thanks a bunch....

  10. #10
    SitePoint Zealot egiblock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Mentor, Ohio
    Posts
    162
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    I GOT IT !!!

    working version at http://www.comcar.cc/ds.htm

    type in the area codes of either '440' '216' or '330'

    if anyone wants the code, email me at egiblock@runbox.com and i'd be happy to send it to you..


    ttyl

  11. #11
    SitePoint Addict ownersite's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    222
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    <input type="hidden" name="areacode" value="770">
    <input type="hidden" name="companyname" value="">
    <input type="hidden" name="yourname" value="">
    <input type="hidden" name="phonenumber" value="">
    <input type="hidden" name="faxnumber" value="">
    <input type="hidden" name="email" value="">
    <input type="hidden" name="qtyrequested" value="">
    Nicely done!
    F150online- 102,000 users strong and growing...
    Ownersite.com
    - tools to enhance vehicle ownership

  12. #12
    SitePoint Zealot egiblock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Mentor, Ohio
    Posts
    162
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    now i have to figure out a way to start a quote numbering system... time for a new thread.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •