SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

PHP Crossword Puzzle Script

Hey, I'm an excellent PHP programmer, but the logic of creating a crossword puzzle is quite confusing, I'm looking to be pointed in the right direction of a decent PHP Crossword Puzzle Script, If anyone could find one for me that'd be great, thanks in advance!

Programming Team silver trophybronze trophy
    Mentioned
    191 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

PHP script

Hi HaloprO, welcome to the forums.
    I do not know what you want PHP to do. Wouldn't a crossword just be a grid of squares and lists of clues? PHP is server-side, so you could have the script create the HTML, but is that what you want? Users could enter values into text fields but then what?

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm not much of a PHP programmer but in Java I would start by making a 2 dimensional array. It's quite simple actually, now that I think about it. I don't really know if it would be that simple in PHP, though.

SitePoint Addict
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    PHP is not the right solution for this kind of application, if you code it in PHP you will have to send the entire puzzle (form) back and forth all the time, unless the user sends only the final solution at the end and nothing in between.

Programming Team silver trophybronze trophy
    Mentioned
    191 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

crossword puzzle

Quote Originally Posted by hextraordinary
    the right solution for this kind of application,
    Javascript could check the correctness of each square or field. It might be a bit tricky to code because of the overlapping. And "view source" would be equivalent to looking in the back of the book turned upside down (you could use unicode I suppose, that would be good enough to hide it from most)