I'm just learning RoR so bear with me.

I have two models, AgBoard and BoardAttribute, with declarations like so:

class AgBoard < ActiveRecord::Base

acts_as_tree rder => "title"
    has_one :BoardAttribute, :dependent => true

class BoardAttribute < ActiveRecord::Base
    set_table_name "ag_board_attributes"

belongs_to :AgBoard

I'm using the standard scaffolding to get this to work, the destroy method is as follows:

def destroy
    board = AgBoard.find(params[:id]).destroy
    redirect_to :action => 'list'
    end

If I don't include the :dependent => true option in the has_one relationship I get foreign key constraint errors because it's not deleting the child row first. If I do add it, I get the following error: wrong number of arguments (0 for 1)

I'm pretty ignorant when it comes to rails so I have no idea where to begin looking. Ultimately, all I want is for it to delete the child row correctly when I delete a parent row.

Any help/suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

SitePoint Guru
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Can you give some more information about the error: file/line/function etc. And the code that triggered the error.

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i have that same error

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The error occurs when this line is executed:

The following is the full trace.
    Code:
    /usr/lib/ruby/gems/1.8/gems/activerecord-1.13.2/lib/active_record/callbacks.rb:335:in `destroy'
    /usr/lib/ruby/gems/1.8/gems/activerecord-1.13.2/lib/active_record/callbacks.rb:335:in `callback'
    /usr/lib/ruby/gems/1.8/gems/activerecord-1.13.2/lib/active_record/callbacks.rb:335:in `callback'
    /usr/lib/ruby/gems/1.8/gems/activerecord-1.13.2/lib/active_record/callbacks.rb:330:in `callback'
    /usr/lib/ruby/gems/1.8/gems/activerecord-1.13.2/lib/active_record/callbacks.rb:320:in `destroy_without_transactions'