SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Hybrid View

SitePoint Wizard silver trophy
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Rails Datatabase Question - Lookup Tables?

I'm very new to RoR and am trying to build a pretty simple application. I think that most of the admin section can be created using the scaffold function (method, or whatever) but I have a question about the database.

When I was planning the database I was intending on building the software with PHP and MySQL. I have a table of listings, and a table of features - and was planning for a lookup table so I could reference listings and features. One to Many.

Do I still add the lookup tables to the database, and what's the correct format so RoR will recognize them, if needed, to build the scaffold?

Again, I'm very new to RoR and Ruby, so any help or links to tutorials would be appreciated. I have a couple tutorials and the Pragmatic book on RoR but haven't found anything about lookups.

Thanks!

SitePoint Guru
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Rails scaffold doesn't support associations (many-to-many/has-many/etc).

Oops, one to many

model listing:
    Code:
    has_many :features
    model feature:
    Code:
    belongs_to :listing
    table features:
    Code:
    id integer
    listing_id integer
    There is a lot of information about this on page 255 and in the rails wiki:
    http://wiki.rubyonrails.org/rails

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Like Fenrir is saying, you don't need a lookup table, just a column. (unless you really want many to many)

The scaffold feature is so easy, everyone wants it to do everything when they get started. I still want it to do everything, but it just doesn't.

You can add those associations really easily, though. Fenrir covered the model, I'll try to overview the controller. Something like:

Code:
    def new
      @listing = Listing.new
      @features = Feature.find(:all)
    end