Hybrid View

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Using the right language?

Hi,

I'm new to web development (I'm familiar with C++), and I'm deciding between learning Ruby and PHP. I mainly want to make mid-sized websites with basic forum and form support. I know my web vocabulary isn't up to par, so let me try to explain.

I was recently advised to purchase the Agile Web Development on Rails book from this community. I started reading it, and then I looked over all the topics. All I see is how to develop complex applications such as a shopping cart (complex for what I'm trying to build). I'm not 100% sure that that's all that's in there, but it is what is definitely focused on.

Am I using the right languages (Ruby/Rails), or should I be learning PHP? I heard that PHP is more of a linear language than Ruby which seems to be quite object-oriented.

Perhaps I'm using the wrong book. I'd like to use Ruby/Rails, but it seems that it's not what I'm looking for. Maybe another book would fit my needs a little more adequately.

Please advise. Any help is appreciated.

TMK

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Try this to see if you like the way Ruby "feels" before you make your decision. (in fact, just try it regardless, it's a damn cool tool!)

Also keep in mind that PHP has been a much more popular language than Ruby for a longer time, and as a beginner web programmer you are likely to find quite a lot more documentation and online tutorials for PHP. This balance is likely to shift in the medium term, though.
    Garcia

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi,

Thanks for the reply. I tried it out, and it seems pretty fun and, perhaps most importantly, very intuitive. That's what drew me to Ruby in the beginning. So, which book would you guys recommend for the web side of Ruby? Pickaxe?

TMK

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)