SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    53
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    how do they do the 'proudly supported' bit on sitepoint

    hi there,
    i've got a board of my own - i've seen the forum main names and then to the right - the proudly supported by and the image... can anyone tell me how this is done. i'd be really interested in knowing how it's done.



    regards,
    J
    kind regards,
    jeev :: rabsterb@aol.com
    flash-i new media [uk]

  2. #2
    SitePoint Enthusiast mahke's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    40
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I think it's just a template edit of vBulletin, with an extra table field included in the forumdisplay template. I am considering something similar, and that's how I worked it out myself. I might be wrong, tho

  3. #3
    Your Lord and Master, Foamy gold trophy Hierophant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Lancaster, Ca. USA
    Posts
    12,305
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That is the basics of how it is done.

    The actual image is made up of two images. The "proudly supported by" and the blue checks are the background. This is then overlaid with the icon graphic of the same size though most is transparent. Using two graphics reduces turn around time for creating the ads and lowers the overall bandwidth used to download the page by almost 6K overall.
    Wayne Luke
    ------------


  4. #4
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    53
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    hi,
    thanks a lot for both the responces.

    w.luke - it wasn't more how the image was done - but how you managed to get the layout like that - the forum name bar - and then instead of having three tables at the right - you have just the 1.


    further help greatly appreciated
    J

  5. #5
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    53
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    :)

    hi - i uploaded an image to show you what i want to do:

    -------
    www.flash-i.com/howdoyoudothis.gif
    -------

    its the way in which there is one table instead of 3 and you put an image there too. that's exactly the kind of effect that i want.

    nb. the image is of www.sitepointforums.com

    any help (please explain in a little detail if possible - not used to editing vb a lot )

    thanks for your help,
    J

  6. #6
    Sports Publisher mjames's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    5,891
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you run a vB, you can likely edit the forumhome template and change things as you wish to reflect how SPF does it.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    53
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    thanks mate,
    yes - i managed to find out the particular bit and edit it successfully. many thanks for helping out




    regards,
    J

  8. #8
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    9
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Help...........

    Iv'e managed to edit the templates to get the advertisement side for my vB like here at sitepoint. I cannot however figure out how to get 'Different Advertisements" in each of the table headers. I have one flashing advertisement for all of them.


    WLUKE...... HELP...... pretty please?

    Is it a css that you have created?

    As I say, I have the templates working. My problem is getting different advertisements in each of the table headings. Care to share your css?

  9. #9
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy Jeremy W.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    9,121
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    CSS?

    If you are getting the same ad in every table area there is a problem with how you have manipulated the code.

    Each forum should have it's own column for the image name, location to point to, etc.

    This would then be pulled from the db and displayed...

    Am I making sense or speaking German? Essentially, this has little to nothing to do with CSS.
    SVP Marketing, SoCast SRM
    Personal blog: Strategerize
    Twitter: @jeremywright

  10. #10
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    9
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by Jeremy W.
    CSS?

    If you are getting the same ad in every table area there is a problem with how you have manipulated the code.

    Each forum should have it's own column for the image name, location to point to, etc.

    This would then be pulled from the db and displayed...

    Am I making sense or speaking German? Essentially, this has little to nothing to do with CSS.

    Well, The main template that I edited was the forumhome_forumbit_level1_nopost template. This is where I made the changes and added my links to graphics. When you input a link to a graphic in the template it displays in all of the forum_home headers. This is what I am having difficulty with. I have what I want as far as the look, I just need to know how to tell the individual nopost headings how to use individual graphics.

    This is what lost me.
    Last edited by Gt1; Oct 9, 2001 at 18:00.

  11. #11
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy Jeremy W.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    9,121
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well, have fun (I'm an ASP guy and without the code to understand it goes over my head).
    SVP Marketing, SoCast SRM
    Personal blog: Strategerize
    Twitter: @jeremywright

  12. #12
    SitePoint Enthusiast mahke's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    40
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    There's a hack for this now, over on the vBulletin.com boards (check the hack releases forum!). It's easy to add, and banners are managed through the control panel Sweet!

  13. #13
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    9
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Thank You!

    I appreicate that. I have it hacked and it works just super.



    Thank You,


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •