SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

How Do You Indrocude Job in an Interesting Manner?

How do you present your job to a girl you just met in the club, without being too boring? "I... I... make websites!", "Gosh, not another geek.", she thinks. Or how do you describe your job to your grandparents without too much details? I just can't find an interesting way to describe my work. Help me!

SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy conradical's Avatar
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    You can only present it the way you see it. You probably see your work as a geeky thing! Love what you do and don't judge it by what others think. They probably see the lack confidence in you and not what you do.

Are you a coder or graphic artist? I'm not a developer so I can say cool stuff like i'm a Graphic artist and the like. (who are not geeks, only coders are! haha).

Read an article on Sara's blog ilovecode.com forgot the title though.

SitePoint Guru
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    just make something up, its all about pretending ur a doctor, or pilot, or lawyer and being confident enough to get away with it.

if she likes u, that much, maybe she'll see the funny side of it 3 weeks down the line when u show up at her place of work to sign a web design contract :-)

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by conradical
    You can only present it the way you see it. You probably see your work as a geeky thing! Love what you do and don't judge it by what others think. They probably see the lack confidence in you and not what you do.

Are you a coder or graphic artist? I'm not a developer so I can say cool stuff like i'm a Graphic artist and the like. (who are not geeks, only coders are! haha).

Read an article on Sara's blog ilovecode.com forgot the title though.