User Tag List

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Website Design Market Leaders

Hi,

Firstly, let me introduce myself. My name is Daniel Dutton. I'm a website designer/developer based in the UK. This is my first post so apologies if I break the rules in any way.

I have a single question which I believe would be good for debate. Any views/opinions/criticisms are gladly welcome.

Why are there no big players in the website design/development industry? In most other industries, it is easy to name one or two market leaders.

Cola is divided between Coca Cola and Pepsi. Operating Systems are mostly Microsoft (I'm a Fedora Core user myself, but I won't go into that now . If I want a burger, McDonalds or Burger King are the names that spring to mind.

However, if I were a business (big or small) wanting a website, I wouldn't be able to think of a company name that I could turn to first. I think it would be a choice of:

1) Turning to the Yellow Pages and calling up a few random numbers from the 'Web Design' section.
    2) Speaking to my regular Graphic Design/Publishing firm or IT/Outsourcing firm who just happen to do websites too.

I work in the the industry and I couldn't tell you a big firm that gets the lions share of the market! It seems to be shared out between small local design/marketing/development firms. I'm not against small local firms. In the examples above, I could just as easily get myself Virgin Cola, Solaris or visit the local takeaway. But it seems to me that the website design industry has lots and lots of these smaller businesses with no industry leader to compare with.

Sure, I know who my local competition are but there does not seem to be any national/international competition and I want to know why.