SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 123456 ... LastLast
Results 26 to 50 of 151
  1. #26
    SitePoint Guru momos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    919
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    have 10 extensions, and only one that did not work, it was pagerank but now I have a better one giving me the alexa-rank too: http://www.quirk.biz/searchstatus/download.php

  2. #27
    Quality not quantity. bo5ton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    654
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Something I've noticed is that there's no button on the far right of my 'bookmarks toolbar folder' where i could access the bookmarks that didn't fit on my toolbar...

  3. #28
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    52
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hm. I gave RC3 a miss, but 1.5 is looking pretty good, so far. It feels more solid and faster than 1.0.7, and most of my plugins did work right off the bat (RSS readers, mouse gestures, that kind of thing). So far, I'm liking it
    BannerConnect Support Team
    BannerConnect

  4. #29
    Matthew's Daddy Mike Empuria's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Box, Wiltshire
    Posts
    514
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I tried it in beta and went back to 1.0.7 because the "Add Bookmark Here" extension didn't work. Anyone know if it works now?

  5. #30
    SitePoint Guru wii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    720
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Nice, a little bug I had on a site using Firefox 1.0.7 has now been fixed in 1.5

    Cool.

  6. #31
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Opera 5.0 rox

  7. #32
    SitePoint Wizard drhowarddrfine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    3,438
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    skaterscafe, that thread is unrelated to 1.5 specifically and has been around a long time, since 1.0 I believe. As I, and others, posted on that same thread, I think it's an ISP issue and not FF because others were having the same problem with IE and other browsers.

  8. #33
    SitePoint Wizard drhowarddrfine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    3,438
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Pagerank has been updated to work with 1.5 but you may have to go to the home page to get it.

  9. #34
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy KLB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Maine USA
    Posts
    3,781
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Unfortunatly while it may technically work, the Pagerank extension is still coded to only work through v1.5 release 2 It still won't work for the final release version of v1.5
    Ken Barbalace: EnvironmentalChemistry.com (Blog, Careers)
    InternetSAR.org
    Volunteers Assist Search and Rescue via Internet
    My Firefox Theme: Classic Compact
    Based onFirefox's default theme but uses much less window space

  10. #35
    Put your best practices away. The New Guy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,087
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Anyone else notice that the message box on sitepoint no longer shows the flashing cursor on first click?
    "A nerd who gets contacts
    and a trendy hair cut is still a nerd"

    - Stephen Colbert on Apple Users

  11. #36
    ko pročita magarac :) boccio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    belgrade
    Posts
    354
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by mmj
    You may have to manually upgrade some of your extensions if you use extensions.
    Is there anyone who doesn't use them?

    Extensions are the biggest problem of FF and backwards compatibility so far... and no elegant solution in perspective.
    Vivvo CMS - Web publishing at your fingertips
    Mile voli disko, a ja belo kolumbijsko

  12. #37
    SitePoint Evangelist ikeo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Austin Texas
    Posts
    591
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I updated this morning and a lot of the extensions worked straight off the bat (I was pleasantly surprised). I spent an hour getting MeasureIt, Session Saver, Track It (track packages) and a bunch of others to work, but it was worth it.

    I still have problems with IE Tab though, It crashes very often which is a shame because that would make it possible for me to ditch IE completely (well not completely but you catch my drift).

    FF 1.5 feels lighter on the old gal and the quicker back and forward buttons has helped me break up with Opera (sniff). Overal all, it is a sexy little browser and all the cool extensions I'm finding are making me have unwholesome thoughts ... If i could make out with this browser I would ( ... yeah ... thats the kind of geek I am ... i want to make out with Firefox.).

  13. #38
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy KLB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Maine USA
    Posts
    3,781
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What drives me nuts with major updates is that I always seem to have to rebuild my theme. I use a modified version of Qute. I use the Qute buttons but compact down all of the padding and spaces so that it is as compact as possible. Often this requires merging the Qute buttons with a more compact theme.

    Maybe I should just upload my theme mods for others to use.
    Ken Barbalace: EnvironmentalChemistry.com (Blog, Careers)
    InternetSAR.org
    Volunteers Assist Search and Rescue via Internet
    My Firefox Theme: Classic Compact
    Based onFirefox's default theme but uses much less window space

  14. #39
    SitePoint Wizard drhowarddrfine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    3,438
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    IETab works fine for me. I didn't re-install it either. Maybe you should uninstall/re-install.

  15. #40
    Umm. PHP Guru....Naaaah jaswinder_rana's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    canada
    Posts
    3,193
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I tried Beta version, dint look good. So many errors, which i think they might have fixed now. But, i am have had prblems iwth FF too, like crashes and recently its going really bad. Many things just work sometimes and doesn't work later.

    So, i am thinking of changing FF to something. I am, thinking to Mozilla or netscape. They are same, i know, but i might not have those problems there.

    But, first i'll try 1.5 to see if its changed.
    ---------------------------
    Errors = Improved Programming.
    My Site

  16. #41
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    14
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I hope FireFox will eventually handle nested tables better.

  17. #42
    SitePoint Addict RamsayX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    324
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Squallidus
    I hope FireFox will eventually handle nested tables better.
    The problem is likely that your table is set up wrong, like just about every other nested tabled in history, not the browser. I hoped noone was using nested tables anymore. Damn.

    I installed 1.5 last night, no problems except I had to reinstall my theme this morning Noia 2.0, no big deal though. Another must have update from the FF team!
    Personal Portfolio
    Paul O'B is the CSS god

  18. #43
    SitePoint Wizard drhowarddrfine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    3,438
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Squallidus
    I hope FireFox will eventually handle nested tables better.
    What problems are you having? Not aware of any FF has.

  19. #44
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy KLB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Maine USA
    Posts
    3,781
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by RamsayX
    I would hope noone was using nested tables anymore. Damn.

    I installed 1.5 last night, no problems except I had to reinstall my theme this morning Noia 2.0, no big deal though. Another must have update from the FF team!
    Actually, vBulletin is full of nested tables. Also Firefox handles nested tables just fine. If someone is having problems with nested tables, then there is flaws in the HTML like unclosed table tags. Such flaws would make the nested tables to appear correct in IE and not Firefox simply because the page was developed using IE for testing which is exceedingly tolerant of programing errors.

    While being tolerant of html coding errors is good for users, it is extremely bad for coding because it allows for poorly formed code.
    Ken Barbalace: EnvironmentalChemistry.com (Blog, Careers)
    InternetSAR.org
    Volunteers Assist Search and Rescue via Internet
    My Firefox Theme: Classic Compact
    Based onFirefox's default theme but uses much less window space

  20. #45
    SitePoint Wizard mPeror's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Saudi Arabia
    Posts
    1,724
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ikeo
    If i could make out with this browser I would
    LMAO !!

    This gotta be the best comment i've heard about Firefox, it should be on their homepage

  21. #46
    SitePoint Wizard Young Twig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Albany, New York
    Posts
    1,355
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by alistero
    I hope they've fixed all those random crashes i keep having
    That's what I was thinking.

  22. #47
    Night Elf silver trophybronze trophy Varelse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    eu
    Posts
    5,967
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    The only problem I've noticed was the "Search Button" extension (quite useless in fact) that made the search field stop working
    After uninstalling this extension, everything's fine and working VERY fast
    FreelanceDaddy - freelancer's personal advisor
    █ Guide and advice for freelancers starting their career
    █ Over 1000 projects posted on freelance markets every day
    █ One-stop resource for online freelancing

  23. #48
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    296
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Couple of great 1.5 only extensions: Tab Preview and foXspose...
    Why's (Poignant) Guide to Ruby
    learn ruby with foxes, wizards, and chunky bacon

  24. #49
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    396
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have compliant xhtml strict code that's broken after upgrade from 1.0.7 to 1.5... Pete is a sad monkey.
    Bring out our hope and reason, before we pine away.

  25. #50
    011521 dbalsdon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    North Of Scotland
    Posts
    444
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    my main problem: none(well, not quite) of my plugins work..... can't view flash or any video's in a webpage.... the only thing that seems to work is adobe reader
    Daniel Balsdon
    My Site


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •