SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Zealot
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

When is it appropriate to use exceptions?

I have some small Java background (read - I'm literate in reading it and took a uni class in it), but I'm still not sure when exceptions are appropriate. If everything is being validated, should you throw them when a rule isn't met? When you open a file?

When do you use exceptions (vs normal error handling, if any).

In fact, I'd like to expand the question to, "How do you handle errors in PHP, both userbased and otherwise, with an emphasis on exceptions?"

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    There is another, very hot thread on this very topic. My position is that yes, you should use them in most cases you mention in the first paragraph. Some seem to disagree, though.

SitePoint Zealot
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I saw that, and thats why this came up. I didn't want to totally hijack it though ... it seemed to be going back to the GOTO debate

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I thought the comment previously made on this forum about using them in exceptional / unexpected circumstances is a good rule of thumb.

SitePoint Zealot
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Is there a rule of thumb for whats exceptional / unexpected at in a web application (cms/shopping cart/invoice/accounting/etc)? I really want some basic examples - hate to be asking such basic questions, but I'm just unaccustomed to exceptions and want to use the best practices possible.

SitePoint Wizard
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)