SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member finbarr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    London England
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    problems loading php module into apache

    I'm using Kevin Yanks book to get myself started on php development but I'm stuck before I can even get started.

    I have downloaded and installed apache 2, php 5 and mysql and am using windows xp pro

    I have the apache 2 server running and tested in the browser under the localhost prefix - everything works fine.

    But, as soon as I try to add the php support to the apache configuration file (on page 11 of Kevins book) the server stops working.

    Has anybody else had this problem? And can anyone offer advice?

    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    96
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You'll have to clarify "stops working"; Does the service fail to start altogether? Are there any errors in the logs?

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member finbarr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    London England
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    from the 'services' window it says windows could not start the apache 2 on local computer. For more info review the system event log (I dont know where to find that).
    But if I go back to the apache config file and take out the:

    LoadModule php5_module c:/program files/php/php5apache2.dll
    AddModule mod_php5.c
    AddType application/x-httpd-php .php
    AddType application/x-httpd-php-source .phps

    everything is all right again.

    Please note: Ive tried it both ways suggested in the book

  4. #4
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    96
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    OK. I'm not aware of the steps defined in the book (I've never read it), and am not too familiar with Apache 2 (So I'm possibly not best placed to help you), but....

    To load the event viewer use Start -> Run -> eventvwr.exe

  5. #5
    SitePoint Member finbarr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    London England
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    thanks neil I've just found it actually and it doesnt tell me a lot to be honest (possibly because I know nothing of this type of stuff).
    Last edited by finbarr; Nov 24, 2005 at 01:33.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Member finbarr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    London England
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Has anybody else come across this problem? Ive done some searches on installing apache and php but havent found anything that might help me out

  7. #7
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    96
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What error messages are listed in event viewer for apache?

  8. #8
    SitePoint Author silver trophybronze trophy

    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ankh-Morpork
    Posts
    12,158
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have no experience with Apache 2, so I'm guessing, but could the space in the path be the culprit? Apache may have a simplistic tokenizer that splits the line on whitespace characters, which would mean that it would see the path as ' c:/program' or see an erroneous directive with 3 arguments instead of 2.

    Try moving the PHP installation to C:\Program\php or C:\php instead and see if it helps.
    Birnam wood is come to Dunsinane

  9. #9
    SitePoint Member finbarr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    London England
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    would it be advisable to maybe download a previous version of apache as there seems to be quite a few people who have no experience of it?

  10. #10
    SitePoint Member finbarr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    London England
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for the help guys... Ive managed to get it sorted by installing a previous version of Apache.

    I did some rooting around and one of the instructions to change the php.ini file was incorrect - it was telling me to change the extesion_dir to php/ext but that folder didnt exist.

    So everythings working cool now. No doubt I'll be back with more problems soon

    ps:I did as you said Tommy so cheers for that


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •