User Tag List

Hybrid View

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Dynamically Naming a Class Variable with a Param

I swear this is like throwing a football or baseball left handed! I'm stumped on something that I think should be easy - but since I'm still new to Ruby, I'm not sure how to pull it off.

Basically, I want to be able to create a class var based on the value I pass in the constructor. Something like this:

# BEGIN CODE
    class Foo
    def initialize(var)
    @#{var} = []
    end
    end

b = new.Foo("baz")
    p b
    # END CODE

I was hoping that I would get a new 'Foo' that has a class array called 'baz' - instead I get a syntax error. I just need a short way of constructing empty arrays when I instantiate an object. Otherwise, I guess I could statically name all of the arrays I want, but that doesn't seem really elegant.

And apologies about the code block - I couldn't get the Ruby to format correctly.

SitePoint Zealot bronze trophy
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What are you even trying to do?

Correct Ruby syntax for instantiating an object is: bar = Foo.new.

Why do you want to name the variable yourself from the outside of the object, an object's internal data is just that: An object's internal data.

Could you please elaborate on what you are trying to achieve, and maybe we could tell you how you're supposed to be doing it.
    If there is a way to overcome the suffering, there is no need to worry; if there is no way to overcome the suffering, there is no point to worry.
    - Shantideva

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sorry about the syntax gaffe.