Thread: idxdisp

Hybrid View

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

idxdisp

Lo peeps this is my first post to these forums, looks very active and I look forward to speeking with you guys. Anyway first question, i'm pretty new to PHP and MySQL ( about 3 weeks now ) but i'm learning fast, anyway I was studying the code of vBuleetin lite and I noticed a clause in one of the queries which I haven't come across yet. Can someone please tell me what the following means.

$query = "INDEX idxdisp(threadid,dateline)";

I'm v confused
    signature

Making a better wheel silver trophy DR_LaRRY_PEpPeR's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    that's in a CREATE TABLE statement right? that's creating an index (key) named idxdisp on the threadid and dateline columns together.
    - Matt ** Ignore old signature for now... **
    Dr.BB - Highly optimized to be 2-3x faster than the "Big 3."
    "Do not enclose numeric values in quotes -- that is very non-standard and will only work on MySQL." - MattR

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What exactly is an index anyways? I haven't come across this one yet!
    signature

Making a better wheel silver trophy DR_LaRRY_PEpPeR's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)