SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Wizard
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

Sub Contracting Web Design Services--Any Advice?

Hello. I am in the process of putting together a website and forum. One of the things I want to do is offer web design services to the traffic I get. I am not a web designer, and I don't want to do this for a living, most definitely. So I figured I could offer web design services, sub-contract out the work, and take 25% - 50% of the fee for myself.

Any thoughts on this? Does anyone have any experience doing anything like this? If it is workable, what kind of split can I expect for myself?

Does anyone have any advice for selecting a partner to do the web design work?

Any input will be appreciated. Thank you.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sure... there are lots of companies that subcontract some or all of their web design services (my company included.)

However, you said "I don't want to do this for a living." You need to understand upfront that subbing out your web design work is not an easy way to make a few bucks. There is a significant amount of work that goes into subcontracting web design.

Here's a VERY simplified version of what you'll need to do:

1. You'll need to sell the projects (you'll need a fair amount of web design knowledge to be successful at this.) Depending on the scope of your projects, this could range from fairly easy to fairly difficult.

2. You'll need to maintain constant contact with your client through out the design process. At times, this can be pretty time consuming.

3. You'll need to oversee the designer to make sure things are being done to spec. They will occasionally make mistakes, or not meet deadlines. You'll need to have a backup plan if something goes wrong.

4. You'll need to coordinate the various members of the development team (unless you designer is handling this part.) These members include the designer, programmer, copywriter, etc.