User Tag List

SitePoint Addict
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Unhappy CSS Positioning and Firefox!

Hi,

I was wondering if anyone else has had trouble aligning items with CSS in FireFox. This is my first time trying to design for Firefox. My website looks great in IE everything is in perfect position however in Firefox several items are really off, even though my CSS & HTML completely validates. Any suggestions on how to deal with this problem???

Thanks
    Jodi

Winemaster bronze trophy BonRouge's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    FF does it right. IE (often) does it wrong.
    There must be problems with your code. If you have a specific question, people will be happy to answer.

SitePoint Addict
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Great, well, I guess I'll just have to mull over my code I can't think of any questions right off the top of my head. Like I said I ran my code through the W3 CSS validator and everything checked out ok. Grrrrrr. The only thing I can think of is to change the px on my positioning but if I do that then it won't look right in IE.

Another question when I try to look at my website in Netscape I can't even find it and I know it's there. Any reason why that is?

Jodi

Winemaster bronze trophy BonRouge's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you post a link to your page, we might be able to offer something more than...'hmmm' and 'harr'...

SitePoint Wizard drhowarddrfine's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Look at these two sites, although there are many out there, and see if your problems may be related. As BonRouge said, you need to have your site work in FF because then you know you coded it right. IE can fool you sometimes because it does not do a good job of following web standards correctly as evidenced by your problems getting your code to work in FF.