SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Question about security and PHP

Hello,

I have a site that allows webmasters to create a poll to put on their site. When their visitors click on the submit button I use a Perl script to register the votes. But now I want to use a PHP script to register the votes. But I'm a little concerned about the security issue. Can people do harm to my system if I allow the script to be called from anywhere? Normally when I run a PHP script on my site I always check the referer to see if the script is being called from my site.

What advice can you guys give me?

chown linux:users\ /world Hartmann's Avatar
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I don't see anything different than from the Perl script being called remotely. The same security risks exsist for both. The script can be abused with either language.

I hope this helps.

Please clarify exactly how the script works and I will be able to give a better assessment.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Please clarify exactly how the script works and I will be able to give a better assessment.
    Well, when a user submit their vote, the script then just updates the file with the results and then display the result page. Go to my site at http://www.ballot-box.net and click on "Demo" to see a demonstration.

Do you have any tips on how to tighten the security?

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you post the source code we could give you some suggestions, otherwise we can't tell much.
    /* Chris Lambert - chris@php.net
    WhiteCrown Networks, CTO - Web Application Security
    vBulletin, Security Programmer - Instant Community
    */

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you post the source code we could give you some suggestions, otherwise we can't tell much.
    Sorry, can't post the source code. I don't think anyone would do that.