SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Evangelist Scott.Botkins's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

What's a Good Website & Web Design Salary?

Hello Guys,

Alright, I've been doing websites now for almost 7 years. I'm turning 20 in few months and I want to keep this job as my career because I love every second of it. Right now I'm building a big network of websites but not from scratch, I already have a community with almost 3000 members to work with. I'm opening a lot of content websites to make money from advertising and other such things as like I have a contract with pricegrabber and I plan to do other things as well. I also started a web design business 2 months ago which I only put in a few hours each week and I've made a few grand. Everything that I'm doing is going to take me until about jan 1st to get all setup, from there I plan to start working any where from 6-10 hours a day, I already have business cards made for web design company and in my area (cincinnati,ohio) there isn't many web design company's at all which means business should go well just in my area.

What I'm wondering is how much is possible from all of this? I want to make it a living and try to shoot for $50k a year because that's plenty for myself, I believe I can do this as I'm able to design and create anything possible for myself or a client as in the past 7 years I've spent my childhood 8-10+ hours a day building websites, at one time I owned 30 dot com's but realized it was just dumb to own so much. So will I be able to reach my goal of $50k+ a year long as I work hard and market very well?

Thanks,
    Scott

SitePoint Evangelist
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hey Scott,

Quote Originally Posted by shockbotkins
    So will I be able to reach my goal of $50k+ a year long as I work hard and market very well?
    YES! depending on how you implement the 2 words I emphasized.