SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Expand Problem

  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    MN, USA
    Posts
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Expand Problem

    Hello, I am working on a new web design for one of my sites. I want the main content area to expand automatically when it gets filled with text.

    I have achieved that, however I am having problems with the other parts of the page expanding and leaving blank spots and that. To see what I am talking about check it out here: www.aoe3.aoe3p.com

    But amazingly in dreamweaver it looks exactly how I want it to.
    (See screenshots here: Screenshot1, Screenshot2, Screenshot3.)

    Please help me.

  2. #2
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    MN, USA
    Posts
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I don't know if this will help but here is another screenshot of how I have the page sliced: www.aoe3.aoe3p.com/slicing.gif

  3. #3
    CSS & JS/DOM Adept bronze trophy
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,482
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    We miss you, Dan Schulz.
    Learn CSS. | X/HTML Validator | CSS validator
    Dynamic Site Solutions
    Code for Firefox, Chrome, Safari, & Opera, then add fixes for IE, not vice versa.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    MN, USA
    Posts
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    well what can I do to fix it? I do not know css so how can I do it?

  5. #5
    CSS & JS/DOM Adept bronze trophy
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,482
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Everyone who creates web pages that aren't just plain text should learn CSS.

    If you put the menu in its own table inside a <td> of that main table, it will probably be fixed.
    We miss you, Dan Schulz.
    Learn CSS. | X/HTML Validator | CSS validator
    Dynamic Site Solutions
    Code for Firefox, Chrome, Safari, & Opera, then add fixes for IE, not vice versa.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    MN, USA
    Posts
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    so just put the <table> </table> tags around the menu?

  7. #7
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    MN, USA
    Posts
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    err. not working. Do you think you could edit the source for me and then post it here, so I can see what you did to it to learn. Then I can just upload the source that you gave me.

  8. #8
    CSS & JS/DOM Adept bronze trophy
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,482
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Put a <td> around the <table> you just added.
    We miss you, Dan Schulz.
    Learn CSS. | X/HTML Validator | CSS validator
    Dynamic Site Solutions
    Code for Firefox, Chrome, Safari, & Opera, then add fixes for IE, not vice versa.

  9. #9
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    MN, USA
    Posts
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I did not just add any table. Show me what you mean please.

  10. #10
    CSS & JS/DOM Adept bronze trophy
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,482
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I don't want to spend my time figuring out all of those colspans and rowspans.

    You can take a look at these example of nested tables.
    http://www.htmlhelp.com/faq/html/tables.html
    http://www.hitmill.com/html/tables/nestingtables.html
    http://www.gwumc.edu/library/tutoria...es/nested.html

    You've made that be more complcated than it needs to be. If I were you I would reslice the image and start from scratch.
    We miss you, Dan Schulz.
    Learn CSS. | X/HTML Validator | CSS validator
    Dynamic Site Solutions
    Code for Firefox, Chrome, Safari, & Opera, then add fixes for IE, not vice versa.

  11. #11
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    MN, USA
    Posts
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Can someone please help me.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •