SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Any good resources in designing with blocks

Hi.

Apart from scouring the web for sample code, has anybody written a good article on nice ways to use blocks. I have a lot of experience with other aspects of OO, but not this one. There are a load of Smalltalk pattern books, most notably by Kent Beck, but I'd like to find this stuff out without learning Smalltalk .

yours, Marcus
    Marcus Baker
    Testing: SimpleTest, Cgreen, Fakemail
    Other: Phemto dependency injector
    Books: PHP in Action, 97 things

SitePoint Zealot
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The only thing I've found has been http://www.rubygarden.org/ruby?Examp...PatternsInRuby. It makes use of blocks and their brother procs in several places (especially the command pattern). As far as full articles on it, I can't say that I've found a whole lot of articles period about ruby design idioms.

SitePoint Guru silver trophy Luke Redpath's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    There is a brief article by Martin Fowler here:
    http://www.martinfowler.com/bliki/Closure.html

I think one nice way of using blocks is to take care of operations where there is always an operation that has to be done before and after another operation, with control being handed to the block for the middle part.

One example would be file handling - you open a file, do something with it, then close it. Instead of worrying about the open and close part, you could do something like:

Code:
    class File
    	def self.open_then_close(file_name, mode)
    		file = File.open(file_name, mode)
    		yield file
    		file.close
    	end
    end

File.open_then_close('somefile.txt', 'rw') do |file|
        # do something with the file here
    end