SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Former Staff Member silver trophy Adam P.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    3,288
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Why does one work but not the other??

    I have a site, www.geocities.com/help4newbies

    All I added was a light blue box under the banner,
    www.geocities.com/help4newbies/index2.html
    ,and all of a sudden the CSS text is all whacked out. I don't get it!

    Why is it doing this?
    SPF Mentor/Advisor 2001-2003
    SPF Designer of the Year 2002
    SPF Graphic Designer of the Year 2003
    AdamPolselli.com

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    2,617
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Just compare these two links to the stylesheet.

    This one belongs to the "normal" page:
    Code:
    <link rel="stylesheet" href="text.css" type="text/css">
    And this one belongs to the "wacked" page:
    Code:
    <link rel="stylesheet" href="text2.css" type="text/css">
    See the difference. The bad one is pointing to text2.css. Maybe you forgot to include the link-statement in that one...

  3. #3
    Former Staff Member silver trophy Adam P.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    3,288
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    text2.css is exactly the same as text.css, except for another class that is on it's own, ".header".

    So it shouldn't matter.

    BTW, .header is going to be for the top navigation in the light blue bar.

    Anyone else? Please help.
    SPF Mentor/Advisor 2001-2003
    SPF Designer of the Year 2002
    SPF Graphic Designer of the Year 2003
    AdamPolselli.com

  4. #4
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    284
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You have specified the link properties 3 times in your new style sheet. The page is thus rendering the most recent (the last one after the header spec.).

    You should change your text2 sheet to this to have the same effect as your current one...

    p, li { font-size : 11px ; font-weight : normal ; color : #006699 ; text-align : left ; font-family : verdana, geneva, arial, helvectica, sans-serif ; }

    a:link { text-decoration : underline ; }
    a:visited { text-decoration : underline ; }
    a:hover { color : #FF6600 ; text-decoration : none ; }
    a:active { text-decoration : underline ; }

    .sidebar { margin-left : 5px ; }

    .code { font-family : courier new, courier, monospace ; margin-left : 10px ; }

    .header { color: #FFFFFF ; font-weight: bold ; }

    Now... if you want to have a different link style for the header part... try adding something like this...

    a.header:link { color : #FFFFFF ; text-decoration : underline ; }
    a.header:visited { color : #FFFFFF ; text-decoration : underline ; }
    a.header:hover { color : #006699 ; text-decoration : none ; }
    a.header:active { color : #FFFFFF ; text-decoration : underline ; }

    Now that will affect the links within an area that has the "header" class assigned to it.

    Cheers!
    htmlite.com

  5. #5
    Former Staff Member silver trophy Adam P.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    3,288
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Great, thanks htmlite! It worked like a charm.
    SPF Mentor/Advisor 2001-2003
    SPF Designer of the Year 2002
    SPF Graphic Designer of the Year 2003
    AdamPolselli.com

  6. #6
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    284
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    n/p
    cheers!

  7. #7
    SitePoint Wizard creole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nashvegas Baby!
    Posts
    7,845
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Unless you have conflicting styles in the two different stylesheets, I would recommend just using one stylesheet. It makes no sense to have 2 versions with only one difference between the two. Combine them and don't worry about it from then on.
    Adobe Certified Coldfusion MX 7 Developer
    Adobe Certified Advanced Coldfusion MX Developer
    My Blog (new) | My Family | My Freelance | My Recipes


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •