SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Grant/Revoke syntax (mysql)

I apologize if this is a dumb question, I'm a newbie when it comes to mySQL. Is there a way to specify the row you want to grant or revoke a privilege on? i.e. something like:

->GRANT DELETE ON sessions.users WHERE id=7
    ->TO webuser;

the idea here is to allow someone to edit their account without giving them access to anyone else's information. Can this be done in this way, or is there a better way to do this?
    -Paul Griffin

Dumb PHP codin' cat
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hmm.. you may need to explain your situation better. How would webuser be modifying their information. You weren't going to give each user permission to log into the mysql console and start modifying data in the table, right? grant is for giving mysql users permissions to tables. If you are talking about a web based form where users can modify information stored in a table, then you should not need to use grant. Grant would be used when setting up a new user in mysql, the user that your script would use to connect to the database. So could you explain a little more about what you are trying to accomplish.
    Please don't PM me with questions.
    Use the forums, that is what they are here for.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    OK, I'll try to explain this a little better.

I'm playing with the user registration system that Kevin Yank described in one of his articles (Managing sessions with PHP and mySQL). Being the ambitions person that I am, I wanted to create a page where users could edit their settings, change their password, unsubscribe from the site, etc.