User Tag List

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Hybrid View

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Yes, another framework question.

I've been developing with php for about 2 years now, and I've gotten to the point where I'm getting sick of reinventing the wheel with every new project I take on.

I do have some reusable code, but honestly, I need to get better at this.

So, in your opinion, what is a better road to take.

I start to modularize my code more, and start using more premade classes. Basically, I'd be gathering all the tools I need from various sources, then just sticking with those.

-or-

I stick my neck out and try to learn a framework, and hope it will solve some of my problems. I have to say, I've never really used a framework, but from what I've seen, they seem to be like all the CMS's out there, in the sense that they are bloated with a thousand features that I don't need.

My primary goal is to speed up the coding process. For those of you who think I should pick a framework, what would you recommend?

Please keep in mind, that I'm a commercial programmer (will code for food ), so any technology that I go with has to comply with this.

Thanks!
    ncarlson.net - a programmer's dystopia

Non-Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I would stick with number one. Your primary goal is to increase your development prowess and decrease your work load, so I would have to ask you if you do unit testing? If not, this will certainly be the first step to a bright, new future.

The problem with CMSs is what you've just pointed out... a) They are bloated, feature wise, and b) They may not be upto what your looking for, so at some point eventually you'll be forced to hack the CMS in question, to make it do what you want.

[That isn't software development.]