SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    SitePoint Addict -Ice-php's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    260
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Linux Server Speeds

    Hey,

    I have a home network at the moment consisting of about 5 workstations maximum. I have a very old pentium 133 with 64mb of ram and I was just wondering what this would perform like as a server running linux for this amount of network traffic. It will only be used as a file, web or ftp server. The internet connection is through a router.

    I would mainly use it for streaming movies over the network, so my other question is, will it be worth shelling out a little extra to put a gigbit nic in it?

    Thanks
    -Ice

  2. #2
    Drupaler bronze trophy greg.harvey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,258
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I found that Linux murdered my old 400MHz AMD K6-2 with 128MB RAM - it was swapping so much it destroyed two old Quantum HDDs in two weeks (I didn't want to spend any money on it, so my fault!)

    In other words, you're gonna need a whole load more RAM!

    Other than that it should be ok - slow, but ok.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Addict -Ice-php's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    260
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I may be able to get my hands on a 1.3 machine with 256 ram. Would the be adequate?
    -Ice

  4. #4
    Drupaler bronze trophy greg.harvey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,258
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well it would work. The problem I had was using 5 year old HDDs, the amount of swapping Linux did was shaking them to pieces. They were failing physically within days of install.

    If you could use a 1.3MHz PIII (or something similar) with 256MB RAM it would work fine, but I'd still fear for the disk. If I were you I'd still invest in some RAM - it's not too expensive - and a second HDD. Use one disk for swap space and the other for storage and (a) your system will be more efficient and (b) you won't lose any data/have to reinstall Linux if the disk used solely for swap space dies on you. In fact, I would do the two HDD thing with ANY Linux install knowing what I know now. The distro I used was Fedora, FYI.


  5. #5
    SitePoint Addict -Ice-php's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    260
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    OK. Thanks very much for you help!
    -Ice

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Grand Rapids, MI
    Posts
    1,284
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I run my web server on an old 166Mhz box with 98MB of RAM and it works fine for one person (me). Anything else and I can see it crashing.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •