SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Non-Member JAMJAMMO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Posts
    106
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    show URL in a textbox

    hi all.

    i recently implemented a frameless pop up window for my site.
    i really like the look of it, although the only thing that i DONT like is how it does not show the URL.

    is it possible to show the URL of a page

    <input name="URL" type="text">

    know what i mean??

  2. #2
    Non-Member JAMJAMMO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Posts
    106
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ya understand the words that are commin outta my mouth???

    ok, i think maybe i was not clear on what i seek.

    i need a text box that will dynamically show the URL of the page it is located on, on my frameless windows.

    i am using a script from www.javascript.internet.com that when clicked, a popup window without any kind of border appears (located here http://javascript.internet.com/page-...ess-popup.html )

    you may consider it to be non-professional, but the way i have implemented it into my site is pretty neat!!!

    anywho ... since it is framelss and i would like for my visitors to know where they are in my sites navigation, i need to be able to show them where they are.

    i THINK it can be done with DHTML or Javascript, can it or it can't?

    basically display the URL of anyoage with a textbox.

    i hope i have cleared this up a bit.

    thanks in advance, JAMMO

  3. #3
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Posts
    137
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You mean something like this ?

    Here's the code:

    <script>
    document.write("<input type='text' name='url' size='50' value=" + window.location + ">");
    </script>

    Hope that helps

  4. #4
    SitePoint Wizard creole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nashvegas Baby!
    Posts
    7,845
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Good job Pablo. JAMJAMMO, you might consider using that in conjunction with this "select all" javascript button:

    <form>
    <script>
    document.write("<input type='text' name='url' size='50' value=" + window.location + ">");
    </script>

    <input type=button value="Highlight All" onClick="javascript:this.form.url.focus();this.form.url.select();">
    </form>
    Adobe Certified Coldfusion MX 7 Developer
    Adobe Certified Advanced Coldfusion MX Developer
    My Blog (new) | My Family | My Freelance | My Recipes

  5. #5
    Non-Member JAMJAMMO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Posts
    106
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by PGA
    You mean something like this ?

    Here's the code:

    <script>
    document.write("<input type='text' name='url' size='50' value=" + window.location + ">");
    </script>

    Hope that helps
    yes yes yes yesssss ...........
    oh you are my SAVIOR!!!!!! thank you thank you thank you!!!

    as soon as i have everything working well, i would like to share it with you. i'd like for you to check it out when i am done and tell me what ya think.

    would you mind?

  6. #6
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Posts
    137
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ok, no problem! Reply when you're ready.
    C ya!


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •