SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

mySQL table architecture

Ok, I am writing a forum in PHP/mySQL that will one day be widely used. I have been creating the mySQL structure for a few days and since I am new to mySQL or any database for that matter, I would like to know if it is a good idea to create two or three tables just for the user profile table. The thing I am worried about is that the profile table (now only one) has 30 columns. Now when someone views a thread, it is going to have to search through this huge database for every user. The question is that there are many columns that will not be used most of the time and I wonder if I select the table, will mySQL load all the columns in the table (even the many that it doesn't need) thus taking up memory and bogging the system or am I safe to go with a one table for profile because I am right in thinking that mySQL will not load those columns of data unless I specifically select data from those columns. Any help/thoughts will be nice.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    well, vbulletin uses one table, and that seems stable enough
    Nearly 7 years old!

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well I guess if vBulletin uses one table for all that stuff, I guess I don't have to worry about it. I have heard that vB uses in total 37 tables, now that is a lot. I have 10-15 right now and I think of new information all the time, however, it is mostly new stuff that I add to other tables.

********* Callithumpian silver trophy freakysid's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What you are describing - splitting up a table into two tables - is part of the processes of denormalisation. This is where you reconfiger your normalised data schema to improve the efficiency of your database queries.