SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Automated deployment

Does anyone know of something like SwitchTower specifically for PHP apps?

Douglas
    Hello World

SitePoint Guru
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I don't know what SwichTower is as I have no experience with Ruby, but Ant might help you:

http://ant.apache.org/

At least you can deploy php-applications with it

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    There's Rephlux.

Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi.

We use a homebrew version in Perl. Funnily enough, we were going to convert it all to Ruby. Java has it's deployment descriptors, which is the samething on steroids. It also has Maven.

Most of these tools use a build tool underneath, such as Ant or Make. Something similar could be knocked up using Phing. The problem is...no one wants to work on this stuff in the PHP community. Rephlux development has pretty much died (it's still alpha quality). Instead we have dozens of frameworks and template engines, mostly substandard.

You can deploy your app. in any language of course.

yours, Marcus
    Marcus Baker
    Testing: SimpleTest, Cgreen, Fakemail
    Other: Phemto dependency injector
    Books: PHP in Action, 97 things

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by lastcraft
    Hi.

We use a homebrew version in Perl. Funnily enough, we were going to convert it all to Ruby. Java has it's deployment descriptors, which is the samething on steroids. It also has Maven.

Most of these tools use a build tool underneath, such as Ant or Make. Something similar could be knocked up using Phing. The problem is...no one wants to work on this stuff in the PHP community. Rephlux development has pretty much died (it's still alpha quality). Instead we have dozens of frameworks and template engines, mostly substandard.

You can deploy your app. in any language of course.