SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Starting a new website.

Hello, My name is Stephanie. I am starting a new website and I am pretty new to this. I NEED HELP!! I need to know how to promote my website and get it out there. My husband is a Web Developer so he has already started my website and I have the domain name. He just has to get it up there now. He has givin me the job of trying to promote the site. I need to know what steps to take next. If anyone could give me some suggestions I would really appreciate it. Thanks so much, Steph

SitePoint Zealot Jason_Therrien's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Howdy!

It would help us if we knew what kind of site you are going to run, what kind of business you're in and who you are targeting with the site.

For the basics, there are several ways to get your website promoted.
    --Search Engines are excellent: expensive
    --Word of Mouth: free (talk up your site to anyone that will listen!)
    --Online Communities: free (create connections and traffic with communities like SitePoint)
    --Business Cards, Letter Heads, Flyers, Brochures, anything that is going out to customers (current or potential) put your website address on.
    --Offline Promotions:
    -Advertise in local publications, or in ones that apply to your site.
    -Put magnets on your car with your website address on them.
    -Drop your business cards everywhere.

GOOD LUCK!!

Jason
    www.SmartWebBusiness.com.
    Where "Smart" businesses go to learn about the Web.

Serial Publisher silver trophy aspen's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Get listed in dmoz.org and yahoo
    Chris Beasley - I publish content and ecommerce sites.
    Featured Article: Free Comprehensive SEO Guide
    My Guide to Building a Successful Website
    My Blog|My Webmaster Forums

SitePoint Addict
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)