SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Colonel Jack O'neill Josh_'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    689
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Local server isn't displaying php errors.

    Hi,
    I think this is the right forum to post this in.

    My local server isn't displaying php errors. If a script isn't working I have to upload everything to test it, and that's very time consuming. Is there some setting in php.ini I should look at?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    NY, USA
    Posts
    712
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I would start with error_reporting

    Since you asked about php.ini settings, you may want to bookmark this page in the manual

    http://www.php.net/manual/en/ini.php

    That's a handy dandy reference, and what I find even more helpful is the "Changeable" column. That let's you know on what levels each directive can be set or over-written. (The constant definitions are at the bottom)

    PHP_INI_USER 1 Entry can be set in user scripts or in Windows registry
    PHP_INI_PERDIR 2 Entry can be set in php.ini, .htaccess or httpd.conf
    PHP_INI_SYSTEM 4 Entry can be set in php.ini or httpd.conf
    PHP_INI_ALL 7 Entry can be set anywhere


  3. #3
    Colonel Jack O'neill Josh_'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    689
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    This is what's in my php.ini for error reporting
    error_reporting = E_ALL & E_STRICT
    display_errors = On
    display_startup_errors = Off
    log_errors = On
    log_errors_max_len = 1024
    ignore_repeated_errors = Off
    ignore_repeated_source = Off
    report_memleaks = On
    track_errors = Off

    It seems ok to me..i can't figure it out

  4. #4
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    294
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    maybe your just SO GOOD you don't have any errors! lol jk

  5. #5
    Colonel Jack O'neill Josh_'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    689
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    yah, well...anyway.

    any ideas?

  6. #6
    SitePoint Addict melchiorus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    283
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Are you certain Apache or whatever HTTP server you are using is reading the right php.ini file? I had that trouble once, and it was driving my crazy.

    If you are using Apache, check httpd.conf for this:

    Code:
    # configure the path to php.ini
    PHPIniDir "C:/PHP"
    Just change "C:/PHP" to the directory the correct php.ini is.
    -Melchior (Stephen Craton)

  7. #7
    Colonel Jack O'neill Josh_'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    689
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That was the problem, thanks


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •