SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    SitePoint Wizard lukeurtnowski's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Coronado
    Posts
    1,644
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Why doesn't my page validate? (was: why?)

    I went to validate my site,
    http://validator.w3.org/check?uri=h...ype=Inline&ss=1
    and got 16 errors (woaw!)
    But dont understand why my javascript function has errors.

    (Is there a problem with my nav bar, should I do another onne?)

  2. #2
    bronze trophy
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    2,670
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You need to escape the script as CDATA, or even better put it in an external file.
    HTML Code:
    <script type="text/javascript">
    //<![CDATA[
    
    //]]>
    </script>
    You can't put a block-level element (H1) inside an anchor (A). Do it the other way around.
    HTML Code:
    <h1 class="hide"><a href="index.shtml" id="header_link" title="LukesPlace">LukesPlace</a></h1>
    You can't put a DIV as a direct child of UL. UL may only contain LI as children.
    <p CLASS="text">
    ...should be:
    HTML Code:
    <p class="text">
    <p align=center>
    ...should be:
    HTML Code:
    <p align="center">
    or better yet:
    HTML Code:
    <p>
    (use stylesheets to adjust alignment.)
    Simon Pieters

  3. #3
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    4,300
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hello

    use a external javascript file, and then link to it

  4. #4
    SitePoint Wizard lukeurtnowski's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Coronado
    Posts
    1,644
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    will do, thanks all.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Wizard lukeurtnowski's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Coronado
    Posts
    1,644
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ok, made all those changes, thanks, now when I try to validate, I get 8 errors (better than 16), they seem to stem from my nav bar which uses lists, does the problem have do with the fact that <div class="navshadow"></div> is not enclosed by the list?
    <li>.....</li>

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard lukeurtnowski's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Coronado
    Posts
    1,644
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I guess that was the problem. But how come my page still looks different in Netscape?

  7. #7
    Programming Team silver trophybronze trophy
    Mittineague's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    West Springfield, Massachusetts
    Posts
    17,160
    Mentioned
    190 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    Why different in Netscape? Maybe?

    http://jigsaw.w3.org/css-validator/v...esplace.com%2F

    Line: 88 Context : #pagebody
    Parse Error - 0 0

    Line: 211 Context : #nav li ul
    Parse Error - opacity=90)

    Line: 211 Context : #nav li ul
    Parse Error - ;-moz-opacity:.90;

    Line: 218 Context : #nav li.sfhover ul
    Parse Error - :.90; position: absolute; width: 151px; height: 24px; left: -999em; } #nav li:hover ul

    Line: 236 Context : #nav_about , #nav_portfolio , #nav_template , #nav_contact , #nav_resources
    Parse Error -

    Line: 358 Context : #nav_about li:hover , #nav_about li.sfhover , #nav_portfolio li:hover , #nav_portfolio li.sfhover , #nav_template li:hover , #nav_template li.sfhover , #nav_contact li:hover , #nav_contact li.sfhover , #nav_resources li:hover , #nav_resources li.sfhover , #nav_about1 li:hover , #nav_about1 li.sfhover , #nav_about2 li:hover , #nav_about2 li.sfhover , #nav_about3 li:hover , #nav_about3 li.sfhover , #nav_about4 li:hover , #nav_about4 li.sfhover , #nav_about5 li:hover , #nav_about5 li.sfhover , #nav_template1 li:hover , #nav_template1 li.sfhover , #nav_template2 li:hover , #nav_template2 li.sfhover , #nav_portfolio1 li:hover , #nav_portfolio1 li.sfhover , #nav_portfolio2 li:hover , #nav_portfolio2 li.sfhover , #nav_portfolio3 li:hover , #nav_portfolio3 li.sfhover , #nav_portfolio4 li:hover , #nav_portfolio4 li.sfhover , #nav_resources1 li:hover , #nav_resources1 li.sfhover , #nav_resources2 li:hover , #nav_resources2 li.sfhover , #nav_resources3 li:hover , #nav_resources3 li.sfhover , #nav_resources4 li:hover , #nav_resources4 li.sfhover , #nav_resources5 li:hover , #nav_resources5 li.sfhover
    Parse Error -

    Line: 417 Context : .p#footer_text
    Parse Error - [empty string]

    Line: 436 Context : input.reder
    Parse Error - [empty string]

  8. #8
    SitePoint Wizard lukeurtnowski's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Coronado
    Posts
    1,644
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ok, thanks, got my page (CSS) to validate.
    http://www.lukesplace.com
    Everything seems to be in order, except that the sub-menus dont hide themselves when a menu topic is moused-over, do you know how to fix this?
    Thanks

  9. #9
    Programming Team silver trophybronze trophy
    Mittineague's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    West Springfield, Massachusetts
    Posts
    17,160
    Mentioned
    190 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    nav menu problems

    In IE nav hover drops-down pushing the text content down as it expands. May be because display: none doesn't take up space. But if you changed it to visibility: invisible there would be quite a space reserved for the drop-downs. It would be nice if they opened on top of the text. In Firefox they do drop-down over the text, making it difficult to read them (they need opaque backgrounds?) and when the mouse is over the drop-down areas that are over the text content , the drop-downs lose the hover. Maybe could do something using z-index or off-the-screen positioning? Hopefully a CSS expert will take a look.

  10. #10
    SitePoint Wizard lukeurtnowski's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Coronado
    Posts
    1,644
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ok, thanks


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •