SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    SitePoint Zealot suro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    155
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    copying a text from a web site, seperated by \n

    Guys help!
    I have a huge huge plain-text which is from a website, the text is seperated with '\n'-s.
    When I copy the whole text to Microsoft Word and then decrease the font size the text sits only on the left half area (did I explain it?)

    Imagine this is the whole area of the document, and the dots are the text
    _______________
    ............
    ...........
    ............
    ..........
    .........
    ...........
    ........
    _______________

    So how can I make this text cover the whole area?

  2. #2
    S1tepoint Surfer drochili's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Mississauga, Canada
    Posts
    466
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Have you tried replacing all occurrences of '\n' with nothing at all (ie. no space, just blank)
    My Blog: DR's Corner
    Random babble: TheCoolerZone

  3. #3
    SitePoint Zealot suro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    155
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Nope, good idea but how do I do it?
    I mean I can't see the '\n', the text is just seperated like when you press the enter button.
    I brought the '\n' example just to explain the problem that I have.

    I'm sure Microsoft Word has some way out of this problem.

  4. #4
    Matt Williams revsorg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Planet Vorcon-5 in sector cx-37-b
    Posts
    1,136
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Have you tried doing a find and replace, sticking \n^p in the Find box a blank space in the replace box.

    Do this in a backup copy of your document, just in case it totally messes it up.
    work: revs | ecru
    reviews: films | mp3s
    projects: Glastonbury Tor | London IT support

  5. #5
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    Southampton, Hants, UK
    Posts
    672
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    have you tried typing it out again? ha ha ha :-)

  6. #6
    S1tepoint Surfer drochili's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Mississauga, Canada
    Posts
    466
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ok, here's the solution:
    - In Word, use the Replace Function (Ctrl - H)
    - to search : ^p
    - to replace: <blank> ie leave the line without any value or spaces

    Should do the trick
    My Blog: DR's Corner
    Random babble: TheCoolerZone

  7. #7
    SitePoint Zealot suro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    155
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by revs_org
    Have you tried doing a find and replace, sticking \n^p in the Find box a blank space in the replace box.

    Do this in a backup copy of your document, just in case it totally messes it up.
    I've just tried both \n and \n^p, doesn't work says it has made 0 replacements.

    Dunno how to do...
    Now I've hit the enter button, and got here, how can I find this?
    I mean the '\n' that is not seen.

    damn!

  8. #8
    SitePoint Zealot suro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    155
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by drochili
    Ok, here's the solution:
    - In Word, use the Replace Function (Ctrl - H)
    - to search : ^p
    - to replace: <blank> ie leave the line without any value or spaces

    Should do the trick
    Thanks Thanks very much now it works! :-)

  9. #9
    S1tepoint Surfer drochili's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Mississauga, Canada
    Posts
    466
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    np
    My Blog: DR's Corner
    Random babble: TheCoolerZone

  10. #10
    100% Windoze-free earther's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Linuxland
    Posts
    2,788
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    For future reference, NoteTab text editor has a 'join lines' function that is very useful to correct this problem.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •