SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    SitePoint Wizard johnn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Southern California, USA
    Posts
    1,181
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    getting urls of a site

    Hello,
    Say if I have a website xyz.com for example, and it has 5 static pages, how do I get the urls of 5 pages using PHP? Sure, I know how to get the url of first page which is http//www.xyz.com, then I need to get 4 urls of the remaining 4 pages without knowing what they are.

    Thanks in advance,
    John

  2. #2
    SitePoint Zealot cokeman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    So. California
    Posts
    173
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    hmm..

    are the URLs linked to from the main index page?

  3. #3
    SitePoint Wizard johnn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Southern California, USA
    Posts
    1,181
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    let's say some do, and some are links in other pages of that web site.

  4. #4
    Mlle. Ledoyen silver trophy seanf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    7,168
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you do not know how many pages there are, what they are called and where they exist you are going to have to write a script to search the code looking for links.

    Sean
    Harry Potter

    -- You lived inside my world so softly
    -- Protected only by the kindness of your nature

  5. #5
    You talkin to me? Anarchos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    1,438
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by seanf
    If you do not know how many pages there are, what they are called and where they exist you are going to have to write a script to search the code looking for links.

    Sean
    Of course, that's what his question was about.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard johnn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Southern California, USA
    Posts
    1,181
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What I want to do is to let clients refresh their own content of their static website. It's a great feature to offer to clients that many web designers don't have. I could get the urls of all the static pages if I want to by looking at page by page, but it's more convenient to use a script to get them, not the entire internet, but just for one particular site.

    John

  7. #7
    Mlle. Ledoyen silver trophy seanf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    7,168
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ok Anarchos I was stating the obvious!

    Johnn have you looked at what is already available? This looks like it might be of some use:

    http://www.hotscripts.com/Detailed/9712.html

    Sean
    Harry Potter

    -- You lived inside my world so softly
    -- Protected only by the kindness of your nature


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •