SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Addict
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Question Long-term stable technology?

For decades I've kept a journal in the form of handwritten sheets of paper and photos (I'm a serious photographer).

About 10 years ago I converted it all to HTML, and shortly later I added CSS. Now it's hundreds of HTML pages and hundreds of photos and other documents, and it grows steadily. My goal is to keep it in a form that's platform (XP, Max, Linux, etc) independent and which will still be readable many years from now without having to own a computer museum.

Professionally I'm a sw engineer and I've been getting up to speed on XML technologies (XHTML, XSLT, XSD, etc), and I can see the handwriting on the wall. Most of the tags in my massive journal are in the process of being deprecated!

When do I need to convert this out of traditional HTML by, and what should I convert it TO that will be a long-term stable technology? I don't want to have to go to all the work of convereting this to XHTML 1.1-valid format, only to have to do it all over again a few years later when "XXHTML" comes out!

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Once your content is in an XML-based format like XHTML, it's much easier to convert to other formats as needed. If I were you I'd move the content up to XHTML 1.0 at least, and use something like XSLT to run the conversion to a new format when/if you ever need it. At that point all you'd have to do is write one stylesheet and run a transformation on your current files to move to a new format

SitePoint Addict
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by vgarcia