SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    SitePoint Guru mdumka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    True North
    Posts
    642
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    IFRAME, Login Error In IE, But Not In FireFox

    Hello,

    I have created a page that has an IFRAME. Inside that IFRAME is a login page.

    In FireFox I can login and no problems are there.

    In IE I login and I get a message from the website saying that cookies have to be on to login. Now I thought this may have been a security setting but it is not becuase if I visit the site outside of the iframe (the normal URL) in IE I can login no problem.

    Any Ideas?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Drupaler bronze trophy greg.harvey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,258
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Maybe IE doesn't allow cookies to be set from inside an iframe? Seems stupid though - the two pages are both in the same domain aren't they? Are they being referenced relative to each other or from the server root?

    G

  3. #3
    SitePoint Guru mdumka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    True North
    Posts
    642
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi There ...

    No They Are Not ... 1 is www.abc.com, 2 is www.def.com ...

    Any other idea's?

    Thanks

  4. #4
    Drupaler bronze trophy greg.harvey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,258
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm pretty sure that's your problem! For security reasons it will be blocked as the domain in the iframe could be maliciously "hiding" its address from unwitting users. I'm sure this problem has come up before. I don't think it's something you can switch off in the browser.

    http://www.webmasterworld.com/forum47/2433.htm

  5. #5
    SitePoint Guru mdumka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    True North
    Posts
    642
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Then why does it work in FireFox and Netscape?

  6. #6
    Drupaler bronze trophy greg.harvey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,258
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Because they're not IE - they're made by different people employing different takes on 'security' I guess. I may be wrong, but everything seems to point to an IE 'security feature'...


  7. #7
    SitePoint Guru mdumka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    True North
    Posts
    642
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Guys


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •