SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

View Poll Results: What graphics card do you use?

Voters
18. You may not vote on this poll
  • Geforce 256

    3 16.67%
  • Geforce 2

    7 38.89%
  • Geforce 3

    0 0%
  • Matrox (all sorts)

    1 5.56%
  • Riva TNT

    1 5.56%
  • Riva TNT2 or RIVA TNT2 ULTRA

    2 11.11%
  • ATI Radeon

    1 5.56%
  • ATI Rage (all sorts)

    2 11.11%
  • Voodoo 2 or older

    0 0%
  • Voodoo 3, 4 or 5

    1 5.56%
Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Marketing Guru ;) Johan Malmberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    266
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    What graphics card do you use?

    Hi,

    I am curious to know what graphics cards you are using. Are Voodoo dead? Is GeForce most popular?
    If you have none of the ones I hav listed above. Please specify which you have in a reply.

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Posts
    1,390
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    64 MB GeForce 2 GTS/Pro on my primary computer. Sometimes I have my PCI Voodoo3 on for dual-monitor happiness.

    I don't do a lot of gaming, though. I'd live with my voodoo as my primary videocard.

    In the near future I plan on buying an All in Wonder Radeon so I can have two monitors on this computer permanantly, plus watch TV and do other things that the Radeon has to offer.

    Voodoos are dead. 3dfx is gone (now nvidia is in charge of them).

  3. #3
    Don't get too close, I bite! Nicky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Lancashire, UK
    Posts
    8,277
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have a Voodoo on my Dell laptop which came with my machine and on my desktop I have an integrated one that came with my Intel motherboard, although I am thinking of overiding it and installing a graphics card as I am not yet convinced it is that good!

  4. #4
    SitePoint Wizard dethfire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    2,477
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    TNT 64megs baby!! Better than shelling out $300 for a geforce 2
    Free Science Homework Help
    http://www.physicsforums.com

  5. #5
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    2,629
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I use an ATI Radeon 32MB DDR and a Voodoo3 2000 PCI.

  6. #6
    Xbox why have you forsaken me? moospot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Clearwater, FL
    Posts
    3,615
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    My card is old, but its still pretty good for gaming. I have a Creative Labs 16mb Voodoo Banshee (ok ok dont laugh )

    My system is old too ! PII/300, 160 mb ram, 8GB HDD

  7. #7
    Don't get too close, I bite! Nicky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Lancashire, UK
    Posts
    8,277
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Moospot, I could cope with your processor and RAM but how on earth can you live on 8 GIG?

  8. #8
    You talkin to me? Anarchos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    1,438
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Eh, without my mp3s and linux installation I'd be at 6 or 7 gigs. You just need to delete the stuff you're not using.

  9. #9
    Xbox why have you forsaken me? moospot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Clearwater, FL
    Posts
    3,615
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It's rough, let me tell ya! All I can say is babies are expensive! LOL! I need to get some more work to pay for an upgrade.

    I definitely need a bigger drive, especially since I have DSL!

    I have the basics, believe me! Windows, Office, Macromedia Suite, Photoshop, Quicken, and not much more.

  10. #10
    We are vigilant icehousedesigns's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Io
    Posts
    299
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You can get a Geforce 2 for less than 120 bucks now. $300 can probably get you a Geforce 3.

  11. #11
    Sports Publisher mjames's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    5,891
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I've got the 32MB GeForce2 MX with TV-Out card that came with my Dell.

  12. #12
    Gong!
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    229
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I use an old TNT2 (32MB) and heck, I don't even need better one, because I don't play games.

  13. #13
    SitePoint Zealot micmar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    188
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by Nicky
    I have a Voodoo on my Dell laptop which came with my machine and on my desktop I have an integrated one that came with my Intel motherboard, although I am thinking of overiding it and installing a graphics card as I am not yet convinced it is that good!
    Dump that integrated rubbish and go grab yourself a new AGP card, you will never regret it.

    I use a Matrox in my work PC and I am about to install a Geforce2 MX in my home PC.
    http://www.avgallery.com.au/ - Your ticket to high-end audio!

  14. #14
    Your daddy. WALoeIII's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    526
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    64 mb GeForce 2 Ultra. Until games are written for the GeForce 3, mine runs faster...

  15. #15
    Don't get too close, I bite! Nicky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Lancashire, UK
    Posts
    8,277
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Micmar, I am convinced, integrated graphic cards are really bad, but I am really really happy with my new Intel motherboard it is ace! What I did was upgrade my old PII 450 and gave the old motherboard, CPU and sound/graphic cards to my poor sister who is only on a P100! I only had to buy her a new case and she had a brand new machine- she loves it! Problem is I have to get a new graphics card now, but there is no rush! I also gave her some of my RAM so I only have 512 now!


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •