SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Enthusiast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

What do you suggest?

Hello fellow sitepointers, I am interested in learning about linux, and I want to install linux on my computer, so I can dual boot with win 98 Second Edition and the linux OS. Unfortunately, I really have no knowledge of the linux operating system and was wondering what distribution you would recommend for a total newbie? (red hat, mandrake, caldera and the version number) How hard is it to install a dual boot OS computer, as I know that I have to partition my HD, but I have no idea how to.

Any comments, recommendations, and suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Thanks
    Steven
    Have you ever been ripped off, lied to or cheated? If so, check out
    Baddealings.com

Don't get too close, I bite! Nicky's Avatar
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The only one I have ever installed is RedHat and it wasn't too bad, I bought the whole box set adn it came with manuals and the like.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I suggest RedHat 7.1, I just installed it this week.

Xbox why have you forsaken me? moospot's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    RedHat is definitely the most user friendly as far as installation is concerned. They have a lot of community support and excellent documentation as well. If you are serious about linux, you should definitely get a good book first.

www.redhat.com

chown linux:users\ /world Hartmann's Avatar
    Mentioned
    11 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Any Linux distro is good... I personally prefer SuSE, Slackware, and FreeBSD (BSD). Why? Well SuSE is easy to setup and maintain, Slackware is no-frills just Linux, and FreeBSD is well, it speaks for itself

SitePoint Enthusiast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)