SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Enthusiast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Little help here ?

I am somewhat new to the art of Webmastering and I wanted to know the best way of getting a couple of resources for my website. It is on a free-hosting service now, but I hope to move it to one with a lot more space in the future. I was looking for a way to incorporate an interactive WYSIWYG HTML editor into my site, similar to the PageWizard found at geocities.com. I was also looking for an interactive file manager to allow visitors to upload certain file types to the site without having to first download programs like WS_FTP (again, similar to geocities.com, and tripod.com as well). Is there anyone out there who knows the best way of bringing this about ??

P.S. A searchable database would be helpful as well

Thanks

Prolific Blogger silver trophy Technosailor's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The problem you are going to run into is that what you are trying to do is a server-side function and requires cgi access. Unfortunately, most free servers don't allow this. Also, what is your siter supposed to do?
    Sketch
    Aaron Brazell
    Technosailor

SitePoint Enthusiast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I intend for the site to have a list of registered users (musicians), each of whom would be allowed to create a one-page HTML home page on the site, as well as upload just under 1 MB worth of picture and sound files to go along with the home page. Once created, everyone who visits the site will be able to browse and search through the pages (hence the searchable index), then access them, along with the pictures and sound files. So that people who register wouldn't have to learn HTML or how to use an FTP program, the HTML editor and file manager would be ready to use on my web site. I'm not sure about access permission - I'll be sure to find out..