SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 51 to 63 of 63
  1. #51
    SitePoint Wizard dominique's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    orbis terrarum
    Posts
    1,523
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by TWTCommish
    Do I likely have PKZip accessible from DOS on my computer already?
    Doubtful, since it's third-party software. Just download it, it's only 600 KB once extracted so it fits nicely on a disk. And it's free, so you shouldn't loose any sleep over it.




    Does anyone know if you can transfer files over a network in DOS? I know you can ping other computers in your network with:
    Code:
    ping 192.168.xxx.xxx
    The network card probably won't be initialized though, unless I'm mistaken.

  2. #52
    SitePoint Wizard TWTCommish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA, USA
    Posts
    3,910
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks everyone for your help -- I tried some PKZip stuff, but just gave up. I went ahead with the reinstallation....and it worked! Everything is like normal. Nothing at all seems to have been lost -- I did have to devote a couple hundred MB towards saving my old system files while re-installation took place, of course. Overall, though, the computer is working better than it was before the problem. I'm having less problems with Outlook, and things seems to be going smoother. Thanks a lot everyone.

  3. #53
    Prolific Blogger silver trophy Technosailor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Before These Crowded Streets
    Posts
    9,446
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Cool, Chris.....now backup your data on a regular basis

    Sketch
    Aaron Brazell
    Technosailor



  4. #54
    differently saned russbellon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    alternate dementian
    Posts
    399
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by Sketch
    .....now backup your data on a regular basis

    Sketch
    preferrably with something other than floppy disks
    good luck.
    (considering an "upgrade" to win98?)
    אין סוף

  5. #55
    Prolific Blogger silver trophy Technosailor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Before These Crowded Streets
    Posts
    9,446
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    well, if all else fails, I can dig up about 873 floppy disks (at last count) and some of your fellow sitepointers, I'm sure, can throw in a couple hundred. Backing up to floppy might actually be a worthwhile consideration...
    Sketch
    Aaron Brazell
    Technosailor



  6. #56
    Sports Publisher mjames's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    5,891
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Good to hear, Chris! I've had my share of problems in the past month (namely ZoneAlarm completely, repeatedly crashing my system, I ended up just not even using it), so it's good to hear you got this fixed. And yes, make weekly backups, or at least monthly ones on your CD-RW.

  7. #57
    Mlle. Ledoyen silver trophy seanf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    7,168
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by russbellon
    considering an "upgrade" to win98?
    I don't want to argue about operating systems, but I have found winMe to be much more stable and a lot less annoying than win98.

    Sean

  8. #58
    Prolific Blogger silver trophy Technosailor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Before These Crowded Streets
    Posts
    9,446
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ummm, not really. I have heard completely the opposite. Win98 is more reliable and nowhere near as buggy as Me. However if you want t a true upgrade, make the jump to Win2k. However, Chris, I seem to recall you said you were planning on it. I may upgrade today. I'm going to a computer expo in Virginia and I may pick up Win2k myself.

    Sketch
    Last edited by Sketch; Jul 14, 2001 at 04:39.
    Aaron Brazell
    Technosailor



  9. #59
    Mlle. Ledoyen silver trophy seanf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    7,168
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I said I did not want to get into an OS arguement!

    I personally have found winMe much better than win98.

    Sean

  10. #60
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Posts
    1,390
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I don't want to start an argument either, but WinMe has proven to be more stable than Win98 only on pre-installed systems (or after formatting). Upgrading to WinMe is a bad idea.

    As Sketch said, Win2k is a real upgrade.

  11. #61
    Mlle. Ledoyen silver trophy seanf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    7,168
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It was pre-installed on my machine and runs very well. I have heard stories about people having a lot of problems with it, but for me ... well read above!

    Sean
    Harry Potter

    -- You lived inside my world so softly
    -- Protected only by the kindness of your nature

  12. #62
    exit();
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    759
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I haven't visitied sitepoint in a while, and if I would have, I most definitely would have replied to this topic.

    If this ever happens again, I'd recommend taking the hard drive out of the bad computer and putting it in another computer and copy the files over and then put it back in the bad computer and reformat.

    BTW - I just reformatted 4 Win2k computers today and they are doing great Much faster..

  13. #63
    + platinum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    6,441
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    just though id mention it....

    Geeeez. Im glad you finally fixed it.....
    It took me like half an hour to read all of the posts.

    what I just did with a virus ridden computer (windows wasn't working either, (partly my fault ) But simply reinstalled windows into a different default dir. (eg windows2), this gave you access to windows. Then reinstalled programs + copied files as neccesary. But there wern't too many problems. But this is just how i would have done it.....

    Ohhh yeah, i actually don't see much diff. between win98 and winMe, to tell you the truth they aren't much different. You get a few nice little features, and it boots a fair bit quicker. Wait for XP


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •