SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

How to display an "external" HTML document within my own HTML document?

Hi,

I'm a newbie, so forgive me if I'm asking a basic question or one that has been asked before.

I am trying to figure out how I can display an externally generated HTML document within a scrollable "window" on one of my own HTML documents. I do not want to use frames, if possible, and while I use IE5 I want an "all browsers" solution.

Specifically, I'd like to display one of eBay's HTML pages that displays the auctions I am running within a "window" on my website.

I've researched a little and it seems like the solution may be with layers (?), but I can't figure out how to set the source to an external document (http:/www.etc...). I've also dabbled with SSI, but again with no luck since the document is externally generated...

Ideally, the effect I'm after is a "window within a window" or a "page within a page". By this, I mean there would be scroll bars to move up/down and left/right on the embedded window.

THANK YOU!!!!

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well -- for what you want I can only think of one solution: IFRAMES. However (::drumrolls::) it only works in IE 5+ and I think (?) NS 6 and Mozilla. But, NS4.7 isn't exactly the dominant powerhouse it used to be -- so you're probably safe if NS6 and Mozilla support IFRAMES is well. If you decide to continue on this course, just let us know and we'll help you with the coding.
    Until then ... happy coding!
    Colin Anderson
    Ambition is a poor excuse for those without
    sense enough to be lazy.

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

IFRAMES

Aes,