SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast bsmith@interinc.com's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    47
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ssh how come I can't

    I know most all here are ahead of me on most everything. So if someone can help a bit.

    I have been telneting without ssh. I know its not good, but I can't seem to get anyone program I have downloaded to work, (Zoc, MacTelnet, Better Telnet, NiftyTelnet, etc.) It is probably something on my side, I'm sure...

    I think I should make this a priority over any and all before proceeding onward.

    I can Telnet in fine but if I use ssh it errors.

    "B"

    I am I, Therefore I bark.

  2. #2
    You talkin to me? Anarchos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    1,438
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I use the software on this page: http://www.zip.com.au/~roca/ttssh.html

  3. #3
    Dumb PHP codin' cat
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    5,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sounds like bsmith is on a Mac from the MacTelnet bit. I tried a search for you on hotfiles.com for ssh and the Mac
    http://hotfiles.zdnet.com/cgi-bin/te...rch.html?b=mac

    Also your server is setup to accept ssh connections correct? If you are on a shared server check with your hosting company. If its your own server then you should know the answer to that already.
    Please don't PM me with questions.
    Use the forums, that is what they are here for.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Enthusiast bsmith@interinc.com's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    47
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Looking thru Windows

    Thanks, got it, unpacked it, and tried to run it, won't run, tried to use wizard to install just sits there. New to windows environment. Do I need to take the .dll that come with any win app. and manually input to the "System Files" This is kinda where I need assistance, Mac is more friendly on install and uninstall I think.

    "B"
    I am I, Therefore I bark.

  5. #5
    Dumb PHP codin' cat
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    5,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Brian, so let's get some basics out of the way.

    Windows or Mac?
    SSH on server?

    If you are windows you can download the 30 day trial of SecureCRT from http://www.vandyke.com/download/securecrt/index.html

    This is a super sweet Telnet/ssh client. You can download the trial and install it on your windows machine. Once its installed you can test your ssh connection to the server. If you have ssh on your server this wiil hook up with it.
    Please don't PM me with questions.
    Use the forums, that is what they are here for.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Enthusiast bsmith@interinc.com's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    47
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    To freddydoesphp

    I am on a Mac and PC cause I like designing with Macromedia on the Mac, and PC to build dynamic. I have a dedicated but I am a newbie at running it. I could use help in findiong out if I can or am set up to ssh to my server, (Linux/Apache).

    Then from there check my php.ini, and httpd.conf to which I am experiencing problems, but need by SPF opinion to SSH priority.

    "B"
    I am I, Therefore I bark.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Enthusiast bsmith@interinc.com's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    47
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Server not setup 101

    Need basic 101 of setting my server up to accept ssh connection. please.

    Error message read "Server not accepting ssh, not setup to receive, yada yada yada". Nice message. Nice program thus far.

    "B"
    I am I, Therefore I bark.

  8. #8
    Dumb PHP codin' cat
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    5,460
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Go to http://www.openssh.org there you can download a free ssh server to install on your server. The docs there walk you through how to do it. If you still need help post back here.
    Please don't PM me with questions.
    Use the forums, that is what they are here for.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •