SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    26
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Exclamation Putting sub-forums in forum descriptions

    How is it possible to put a forums, sub-forum into a forum description.

    I have seen this effect on the Sitepoints community, am would like to use the same effect.

    Any help would be great

  2. #2
    SitePoint Guru prequel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    682
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    just use html code in the forumhome_level bit templates if you're using vB

  3. #3
    SitePoint Enthusiast mahke's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    40
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Could you also use HTML within the forum description itself? This could be done with any forum package, I'm sure...

  4. #4
    SitePoint Addict rabbitdog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    So. Tenn.
    Posts
    363
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Okay, I'm curious about this one too. According the vbb documentation, you need to create a new template to handle the sub forums (forumhome_forumbit_levelX_post/nopost) ... so how would you get the contents of this template to show up within the description of the parent forum?

  5. #5
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    1,483
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    All that is done here at SitePoint (I think, you'll have to check with Wayne to be sure) is that the titles have been put as HTML into the forum descriptions.

    mahke: yes this could be done with any forum system.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Addict rabbitdog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    So. Tenn.
    Posts
    363
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    hmmmmm...its a great layout, I wonder if its possible to hack it so that the template is assigned to a variable, and can be outputted within the template for the parent forum? That way you could get it to automatically update.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •