SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

View Poll Results: What is your Monitor Resolution?

Voters
49. You may not vote on this poll
  • 640 X 480

    1 2.04%
  • 800 X 600

    9 18.37%
  • 1024 X 768

    23 46.94%
  • 1280 X 1024

    9 18.37%
  • Higher... Please state.

    7 14.29%
Results 1 to 24 of 24
  1. #1
    Your Lord and Master, Foamy gold trophy Hierophant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Lancaster, Ca. USA
    Posts
    12,305
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Monitor Resolution

    What is your monitor resolution set at?
    Wayne Luke
    ------------


  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    2,629
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I voted "Higher", so I'll state my resolution. It's 3200x1200. That's 1600x1200 on both of my monitors.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    1,483
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Mine is 1600x1200.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Zealot micmar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    188
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I work at 1024x768 only becuase I am on a 15" monitor most of the time. When I am working on the bosses PC then I run at 1600x1200
    http://www.avgallery.com.au/ - Your ticket to high-end audio!

  5. #5
    SitePoint Guru sowen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Stockport, UK
    Posts
    729
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    1600x1200 at work and at home 1600x1200 + 800x600 (dual monitor)

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Posts
    1,390
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    1600x1200 and occasionally with an additional 1024x768 monitor. I'll be getting another Trinitron soon and have 3200x1200.

  7. #7
    e=2.718281828459045235360 HyperBaseball's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    boston, MA
    Posts
    277
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Am I the only one who has difficulty reading anything on a resolution bigger than 800 x600?!
    Jason Unger is me.
    "Homer no function beer well without"
    http://www.jasonunger.com

  8. #8
    Captain Internet neil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    n.ireland
    Posts
    333
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    17" monitor @ 1024x768 resolution.
    neil - Geocities, the trailer park of the web
    .<.<.<.<.<.<.<.<
    WEB[retype.net] + [guff.org]
    ICQ[273981] AIM[neiim]

  9. #9
    SitePoint Wizard creole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nashvegas Baby!
    Posts
    7,845
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    At work:
    17" @ 1024x768

    At Home:
    19" @ 1280x1024
    17" @ 1024x768
    Adobe Certified Coldfusion MX 7 Developer
    Adobe Certified Advanced Coldfusion MX Developer
    My Blog (new) | My Family | My Freelance | My Recipes

  10. #10
    mouse monkey
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    656
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi,

    17" @ 1600x1200 and I would have it higher if it would go any.

  11. #11
    SitePoint Zealot Megs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Kitchener, Ontario
    Posts
    179
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I ususally run at 1024 on a 19" at home and on a 17" at work, but I'll push it higher if I'm doing any heavy graphics work, particularly with flash.
    Megan Jack
    Proud to be Canadian
    http://www.meganjack.com
    Moderator at The Webmaster Forums and EDevCafe Forums

  12. #12
    Sports Publisher mjames's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    5,891
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    My resolution isn't listed. I am running 1152x864 on a 19" flat Trinitron.

  13. #13
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    29
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    21" monitor @1600 x 1200, both @ work & home, . . . . but browse the net in 800 by 600 windows so I can (& do) have multiple sites going at the same time.

  14. #14
    Fluffy Kitten Programmer~ Elledan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,356
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Why is there only an option for 1280x1024? This is not a 'real' resolution since its proportions are different from all other resolutions (800x600, 1024x768 etc.). I use 1280x960.
    www.nyanko.ws - My web-, software- and game development company.
    www.mayaposch.com - My personal site and blog.

  15. #15
    Your Lord and Master, Foamy gold trophy Hierophant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Lancaster, Ca. USA
    Posts
    12,305
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by Elledan
    Why is there only an option for 1280x1024? This is not a 'real' resolution since its proportions are different from all other resolutions (800x600, 1024x768 etc.). I use 1280x960.
    Because I listed the four different resolutions my ancient video card supports. Since I don't play games on my PC except for Mahjongg or the occasional solitaire and I don't do graphics work, I never bothered upgrading my video card which is the same as what came in the machine in 1995...

    Yes is it an 8 Meg S3 2d/3d combo card and enables my PC to get 12 FPS in Quake III at 800 X 600 resolution according to the benchmark. Of course none of this bothers me too much since I have a 30" television with a shadowmask tube to play video games on sitting just a few feet away.
    Wayne Luke
    ------------


  16. #16
    Fluffy Kitten Programmer~ Elledan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,356
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ROFL

    That videocard is ancient!
    www.nyanko.ws - My web-, software- and game development company.
    www.mayaposch.com - My personal site and blog.

  17. #17
    Freelance Web Designer KeithMcL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    1,125
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I voted 1024x768. I prefer that resolution. Anyting higher than that and I have problems focusing on things.

  18. #18
    SitePoint Addict michaelwheaton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    338
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Right now I'm using a 17" monitor set to 800x600. I used to always use it at 1024x768 until my dad discovered how to change the resolution. Everytime I would boot up it would be at 800x600 and I'd put it up to 1024x768- then when he would go on he'd change it back to how he likes it. I finally gave up and just left it at 800x600, and I'm actually quite used to it now and I don't mind. On my computer in my room I use a 15" with 800x600.

  19. #19
    SitePoint Enthusiast swoosh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    43
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Not Listed In The Poll...

    ... It's a 17" monitor @ 1152 x 864 resolution.

  20. #20
    Kat's Meow Senior ******* WebKat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    California USA
    Posts
    1,071
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    My hubby's computer is a 19" @ 1600x1200 BUT I feel like I have to have my chair positioned at the far end of his office in order to see & read the screen---just too, too big for my liking as I feel that I need binoculars ! I have no idea how he likes this large size, but he does, as do many of you!

    As me me, picture a cave cat hermit in a darkened room hunched over my desk & my 15" Monitor @ 800x600

    Purrrrrfect for me.....WebKat
    Dlynn :: SitePoint Senior Advisor ::
    PawPrint Designs by WebKat
    "Dogs come when they're called; Cats take a message and get back to you later." ~ Mary Bly

  21. #21
    SitePoint Wizard Aes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    3,392
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Is it just me, or does anybody else find it interesting that the numbers in this thread don't match with the "alledged" Internet standard 800x600 at all? It's a good thing, I think. 1280x1024 is sufficient -- if I could go higher w/o my screen scrolling in sections, I would. Hehe.
    Colin Anderson
    Ambition is a poor excuse for those without
    sense enough to be lazy.

  22. #22
    SitePoint Addict SniperUK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    367
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I also voted for 1024x768, any thing lower, i hate it, every thing is too big, even on a 15" Monitor.

  23. #23
    Non-Member Kelar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Holland
    Posts
    79
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I used to have a 800 x 600 resolution on my 15" Monitor, but I recently moved to a 1024 x 800 resolution, which works perfectly fine for me .

  24. #24
    Marketing Guru ;) Johan Malmberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    266
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I use 1024*768 but consider to change screen. Whe you are working with images 1024 is to little.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •