Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: UltraDev 4

SitePoint Enthusiast bsmith@interinc.com's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

UltraDev 4

I am currently using my Telnet to create my database.

I am new to this, and have UltraDev4. Can I use it to create my database? Will it work with MySQL? Should I no use UltraDev4?

I have seen posts about mysqladmin programs and have downloaded them but cannot get them to connect.

In the DSN do I need anything in front of the path?

LIKE system(/home/shc_servers/sites/mysite/root/mydata/)??????

I need a lotta help.

I am I, Therefore I bark.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ultradev 4 will only create code in either JSP, ASP or CFML, it does not do PHP natively although I have heard of add-on's that can do this for you.
    Ultradev will not create a Database for you, all it will do is help you create the code to display info from your database on your web pages.

Also I would suggest you use SSH to login to your server as Telnet uses no encryption so your password and username are vunerable to attack.
    http://www.avgallery.com.au/ - Your ticket to high-end audio!

SitePoint Enthusiast cragthehack's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    there are several extensions available for UD that will help you. Do a search at the Macormedia Exchange on "PHP". Use the Extension Manager.

Also, check out PHAKt (www.interakt.ro/phakt ). PHAKt adds php support to UD. Mind you this is still in beta.. and it does not make UD as easy to use with php as it is with ASP or CF.

I'm hoping that Macormedia adds php support to UD with the next release. But, I haven't heard anything. But, since they have aquired Allaire (the developers of Cold Fusion) I doubt they will.

Actually, it kind-of pisses me off. I'm moving from ASP to PHP and now UD isn't as important to me as it used to be.
    - crag
    net geek for non profits and political campaings

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)