SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    cd /pub; more beer diacono's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Horsham, West Sussex, UK
    Posts
    277
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    how to put a layer on top?

    i'm using div tags with css and came up with this design but i cant seem to be ables to get the logo on top! (ie only). what am i doing wrong? i thought that if you put the z-index to 1 it should solve it... but it didnt!

    what am i doing wrong?
    DIEGO MOORE

  2. #2
    1-800-JMULDER JMulder's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,745
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Putting the Z-Index to 1 means it will be a layer at the lowest level, so you have to increase the Z-index to the highest number in order to have it displayed above everyother layer.

    So say if you have three layers, layer 1 with Z-index 1 for your background image, kayer 2 with Z-index 2 with content above the background image (obviously) and then layer 3 with Z-index 3 with eg. a title graphic.

    This did it for me =)
    Jeroen Mulder

    w: www.jeroenmulder.com

  3. #3
    cd /pub; more beer diacono's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Horsham, West Sussex, UK
    Posts
    277
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ok... that makes sense, so i tried it out.
    i've got a total of 4 layers and put a z-index of 4 for the logo and nothing changed!?

    is there a limit, is the limit 3?
    DIEGO MOORE

  4. #4
    1-800-JMULDER JMulder's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,745
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Errr, no limit I think. Ask someone else? I am not a layer expert.
    Jeroen Mulder

    w: www.jeroenmulder.com

  5. #5
    SitePoint Zealot LunaC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    176
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have a site that uses z-index 100 in the menu script, so I'm guessing that there's no limit... but I'm not an expert either. Just learning this stuff right now.

    It looks like the logo is on top to me (using IE refresh).

  6. #6
    cd /pub; more beer diacono's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Horsham, West Sussex, UK
    Posts
    277
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    but do you see the logo on top of the nav bar?? i want to place the logo so that it overlaps the three layers (top, nav, main).

    i would need to change the size though...
    DIEGO MOORE

  7. #7
    cd /pub; more beer diacono's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Horsham, West Sussex, UK
    Posts
    277
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    got it!

    finally got it working!!
    what i did was get rid of all the z-index values except the one for the logo... and then i put the logo div tag right at the end (after all the other layers, otherwise it wouldnt come on top!)

    thanx anyway...
    DIEGO MOORE

  8. #8
    SitePoint Wizard creole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nashvegas Baby!
    Posts
    7,845
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    diacono...

    You can set the z-index of each DIV tag seperately. You don't need to go to all that trouble just to get ONE to work. I would suggest spacing them out by 5 or so (1, 5 ,10, 15) etc. That way you leave yourself room to expand if you need to.

    Also, I noticed that your logo does not look right. I see it as ABOVE the "Ministry to Children" header image, but below the tables. I somehow doubt that was your intent. I am using IE 5.5.
    Adobe Certified Coldfusion MX 7 Developer
    Adobe Certified Advanced Coldfusion MX Developer
    My Blog (new) | My Family | My Freelance | My Recipes

  9. #9
    cd /pub; more beer diacono's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Horsham, West Sussex, UK
    Posts
    277
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ok. cool.
    The whole thing is just some sort of experiment... just playing around

    i've actually completly changed my mind and i'm going to put it somewhere else
    thanx
    DIEGO MOORE


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •