SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    France
    Posts
    94
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Unhappy Active Directory

    Hello all, i've searched the net for a tutorial to set an active directory configuration on my network but i've only found a lot of theory.
    Could someone tell me where to go to set active directory on a win xp LAN ?
    Do i have to install something or is it by default on win xp ?
    Where do i have to click ?
    Thx in advance, i'm despairing to find the answer

  2. #2
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    France
    Posts
    94
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Is it at least possible to use Active Directory with Windows XP ?

  3. #3
    SitePoint Wizard Dangermouse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    1,024
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You need a Windows Server product, NT, 2000 or 2003 to setup an active directory domain and i think windows xp pro/2000 pro for the client.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hey,
    Yer he is right, Active Directory is something that you cannot just install. It is designed for a large network of computers. When you deploy Active Directory you are creating a domain, this basically means that you manage all of your computers from point, the server (to have a Microsoft Windows Domain you will need to purchase Windows Server 2003) You can do everything from having roaming users so that there desktops / application settings are the same on all computers, restrict which computers users can and cannot login to.

    But by saying all of this you do need to have allot of knowledge to set all of this up. There are many things to take in to consideration for example security. Someone could gain access to your Primary Domain Controller they could effectively ruin all of your client PC's (workstations)

    Take all of this in to consideration.
    Hope This Helps
    Scott

  5. #5
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    France
    Posts
    94
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thx for the explanations man, it helps a lot and makes me understand i won't use it now ^^
    Thx a lot

  6. #6
    SitePoint Author silver trophybronze trophy
    wwb_99's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Posts
    10,576
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Dangermouse
    You need a Windows Server product, NT, 2000 or 2003 to setup an active directory domain and i think windows xp pro/2000 pro for the client.
    Actually, you need 2000 or 2003 server. NT 4 don't cut the mustard, but it will make Domains.

    IIRC, clients can be any flavor of Windows, though it runs in some sort of backwards compliance mode for anything less than win2000.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •