SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: possible?

  1. #1
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    BC, Canada
    Posts
    630
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    possible?

    Hi, I have a news database, and uses this style sheet

    PHP Code:
    P.digest-headline displayinlinefontbold 10pt Arial }
    P.digest-text {  displaynone }
    P.digest-date displaynone }
    P.digest-action displayinlineword-spacing: -7.4emfontbold 10pt Arial 
    digest-headline is for the headline
    digest text is for the text
    digest date is the date of the story
    and action is the "more" link to view the rest of the story...

    Im trying to get it display like this

    Headline More
    Headline More
    ect....
    so have a headline, then the more link, then go down to the next line.. I already got it so the date ant text dont display using the display:none attriute.. but is it possible to do what I want without having to go through my scripts pulling my info from the database?

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard Aes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    3,392
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I think we're going to need more information....

    You say that you're using a database -- what database (e.g. MySQL, Access, etc)? What scripting language are you using to interact with the database (e.g. PHP, ASP, CF, Perl)? Things like that.

    Colin Anderson
    Ambition is a poor excuse for those without
    sense enough to be lazy.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    BC, Canada
    Posts
    630
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    that dosnt matter.... ?

    I dont want to edit my scripts.. I want the css to format my text

  4. #4
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    854
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It would be much easier to change the script and add a <br> after every item.

    If you must do it in CSS, then maybe some expert can help you because I really don't know if it is possible.

  5. #5
    .net install meltdown
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    View Ridge
    Posts
    692
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You want the headline & the more link on the same line but with different properties?

    <p class="digest-headline">Headline<span class="digest-action">More</span></p>?

    Forgive my php ignorance, but are you using <a>more</a>? If so you could apply properties to the <a> tag.

    Got some example code?

  6. #6
    We like music. weirdbeardmt's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Channel Islands Girth: Footlong
    Posts
    5,882
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Aes was right when he said we need more info. In order to get the CSS to format the text we need to know exactly how the information is stored in the database. Is it plain text, or does it have tags. How are you inserting it into your page? Are you using templates? Are there tables in it? Or is just text spanning? That kind of stuff...
    I swear to drunk I'm not God.
    Matt's debating is not a crime
    Hint: Don't buy a stupid dwarf Clicky


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •