SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    SitePoint Zealot NZ Joe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Kapiti, New Zealand
    Posts
    182
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    New to css hyperlink image problem

    How do I prevent images that have hyperlinks from having the blue box around them?
    Gravity always wins

  2. #2
    1-800-JMULDER JMulder's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,745
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    No CSS is needed to solve this.
    Just use this:

    Code:
    <a href="/destination.html"><img src="/path/to/image.jpg" border="0"></a>
    JPG could be GIF too ofcourse
    But the border="0" does the trick.
    Jeroen Mulder

    w: www.jeroenmulder.com

  3. #3
    will code HTML for food Michel V's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Corsica
    Posts
    552
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'll assume this does the trick in CSS:

    img {
    border: 0px;
    }

    You might also want to define classes for images who you want to add border to.
    [blogger: zengun] [blogware contributor: wordpress]

  4. #4
    SitePoint Wizard creole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nashvegas Baby!
    Posts
    7,845
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Stick with HTML to define a border (or lack of one) for right now. The code that Shin Ma posted does not work in Netscape 4.7.
    Adobe Certified Coldfusion MX 7 Developer
    Adobe Certified Advanced Coldfusion MX Developer
    My Blog (new) | My Family | My Freelance | My Recipes

  5. #5
    SitePoint Zealot NZ Joe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Kapiti, New Zealand
    Posts
    182
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks, I was trying to do all of my formatting with css, but if it's not supported I'll stick it in the HTML
    Gravity always wins

  6. #6
    SitePoint Evangelist =X='s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    487
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    does anything work in netscape 4.7 creole??????
    I don't understand peeps are still using that sh*t...
    you can't view any page normal with that....
    PHP-Webservices - Profesional Hosting and Programming of sites.

  7. #7
    differently saned russbellon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    alternate dementian
    Posts
    399
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    you dissin' my preferred browser? yes i still use nutscrape to browse (that dosen't stop me from saying lots of bad words when trying to get my own html to work properly in it)

  8. #8
    SitePoint Zealot NZ Joe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Kapiti, New Zealand
    Posts
    182
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    There are still people out there with windows 3.1 on a 486 with ie4 or ns4. As long as they come to my sites I will continue to cater for them.
    Gravity always wins

  9. #9
    SitePoint Evangelist =X='s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    487
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I don't...IE 4 ok but NS4???
    If I had to make sites for that thing, I would live 10 years less...
    I already get headaches now, with IE5, IE5.5, NS6 and Opera 5.11...

    But NS4 is just hopeless...that can only show flat textfiles properly...

    and besides...the site I'm working on is a gamessite, so I don't think peeps with windows 3.1 are interested in viewing it
    PHP-Webservices - Profesional Hosting and Programming of sites.

  10. #10
    SitePoint Wizard creole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nashvegas Baby!
    Posts
    7,845
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    NS 4.7 is a crappy browser yes...

    But, if you know how to code HTML then you should have no problems with your pages bening viewed in it. Does that sound properly elitist? hehe

    Adobe Certified Coldfusion MX 7 Developer
    Adobe Certified Advanced Coldfusion MX Developer
    My Blog (new) | My Family | My Freelance | My Recipes

  11. #11
    SitePoint Evangelist =X='s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    487
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    does that thing support CSS well?
    can it show tables the correct way?

    I don't think so...
    PHP-Webservices - Profesional Hosting and Programming of sites.

  12. #12
    Victory shall be mine tubedogg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Medina, OH
    Posts
    440
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by =X=
    can it show tables the correct way?
    Yes.

    Actually it's quite simple to code for Netscape. Just do a quick PHP sniff and then write either CSS or a Netscape-working equivelant depending on what PHP returns as the browser. It's what I did so that I can have textareas and inputs with a CSS border that still work in Netscape, as well as a CSS-driven layout that is replaced by tables in Netscape.

    (Related URL: http://www.phpbuilder.com/columns/tim20000821.php3)
    Kevin

  13. #13
    SitePoint Evangelist =X='s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    487
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    how many % of peeps are actually using NS 4.x?
    and how many NS 6, and opera?

    http://www.w3schools.com/browsers/browsers_stats.asp here are some numbers, but not what I want...NS 6 and Opera aren't included, and I'm sure they are used a lot too, especially Opera is growing I think...
    PHP-Webservices - Profesional Hosting and Programming of sites.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •