SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    SitePoint Addict maxy22's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    here
    Posts
    289
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question someone registered me at autosurf

    I found that a site of mine is traffic from an auto-surf program

    I did not sign-up for their program ...


    what should I do .. I don't want auto surf traffic
    I have heard that you can get your adsense account suspended with that kind of traffic

  2. #2
    One Dream. BigL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    434
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Try contacting the autosurf web site.

    http://www.autosurf.org/?site=kontakt&wid=

    Although after reading over what little text they have on that page, their illiteracy shines through as much as their professional appearance.
    Never Ignorant Getting Goals Accomplished

  3. #3
    Unauthorized Web Theologian emmzee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    738
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Just a note that there's dozens (probably hundreds) of auto-surf sites out there, so the chances of autosurf.org being the one is probably pretty slim. Nevertheless, I'd agree that your best bet is to contact that autosurf yourself and ask them to prevent your site from showing in their autosurf. If that doesn't work, there's probably some way to block hits from them (like using the REFERRER or something) I don't know exactly how to do that though.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Enthusiast Forse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Finland, Oulu
    Posts
    49
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by maxy22
    I found that a site of mine is traffic from an auto-surf program

    I did not sign-up for their program ...


    what should I do .. I don't want auto surf traffic
    I have heard that you can get your adsense account suspended with that kind of traffic
    Just block access for them or do this:

    1. Check if visitor comes from autosurf, if he does then:
    2. Disable google ads
    3. Redirect to own page and display ads normally =)

  5. #5
    SitePoint Guru scotlandforvisit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    687
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have had a similar thing happen in the past. I could never undertand what the point was until I realised that the person had framed my site and placed a big banner ad across the top. What a job I had convincing the ad banner companies that it wasn't me.

    Write to the compny concerned. Despite what one of the above posters says they are actually quite good in terms of suport. Can't remember who it was that had mine at the time
    The newest sites in the online empire!Scotlands Culture
    Baby Names

  6. #6
    SitePoint Addict maxy22's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    here
    Posts
    289
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    got the problem solved by using a frame-buster

  7. #7
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    439
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    what is a frame-buster, and how can you make use of it?

  8. #8
    SitePoint Guru scotlandforvisit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    687
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by maxy22
    got the problem solved by using a frame-buster
    forgot to mention, thats what I did eventually. Even got an e-mail from spaceports (thats where HE hosted it) asking me why I was doing that and helpfully giving me a note of his name and address-think they did that by mistake though!!
    The newest sites in the online empire!Scotlands Culture
    Baby Names

  9. #9
    Forums Designer
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    422
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by mvd
    what is a frame-buster, and how can you make use of it?
    in your html code before </head> add this:
    Code:
    <script language="javascript" type="text/javascript">
    <!--
     if (top.location != self.location) { top.location.href=self.location.href; }
    //-->
    </script>


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •